Roma ah


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
January 16th 2007
Published: January 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Melania and NonnaMelania and NonnaMelania and Nonna

Nonna is the classic Italian grandmother. We communicate mostly through charades. Or she says things in Italian and I say Si or Graze. She has been taking care of people since she was a girl because her parents died in an American air raid in WWII. Nonna likes to cook and is good at it, which was good for me. She and Melania are good at saving the day, like when I get lost in Pozzuoli because they closed the Metropolitanna. Nonna has also a no-nonsense edge to her personality which is very enduring and actually reminds me of my Grandmother. My Grandmother is not as crazy a driver as Nonna is though.
Who ever thought to say Rome would be a nice calm city, but after coming from Napoli, that's exactly what it is. Just got in and got my hotel sorted out. Made it to the internet cafe, a manditory stop.

I took lots of photos today of Napoli before I left so that I can show you some of it, but this computer isn't letting me upload so I will have to find a different Internet cafe tomorrow to show you.

Napoli was crazy and great. I think it's sorta like the NY of Euro-- Only crazier. The people are sure crazy there, the way they cross the streets and the way they drive. I saw some pretty interesting things you can do with a car. I also caught a little bit of the Napoli habits. I noticed when I got here to Roma I was beginning to cross streets when cars were coming (even when they are coming fast) because that's the way they do it in Napoli. If you don't do that there, you'll never get across. I was able to calm down here finally, and wait for the traffic signal to change.

Today a nice
Hollywood Sign in NapoliHollywood Sign in NapoliHollywood Sign in Napoli

Did I mention I can see the Hollywood sign from here!
quiet light meal hopefully because I have gain about 80 kilograms in Napoli from the good cooking of Nonna and Louisa.

Buona Note.

Advertisement



16th January 2007

more photos!
I demand more photos! Lots of great pictures, Matt. I want more. Your blog makes me remember my trip to Italy 4 years ago. Thanks updating so often!
17th January 2007

everything sounds great!
does RN arrive today? enjoy the continuance of your great trip...the time is passing by so quickly....glad you're taking lots of photos. Say hello to the pope for me! Love you, Mom
17th January 2007

uffizi
Just saw in the Times that the Uffizi is to be closed for renewal....or something like that. Hope you can still get in....it is wonderful...Venus on the half shell...and stuff like that. Sounds like you are having a great time. Bythe way. the Hotel in Rome is the Kolbe...in case you care to change. Right now it is warmer in Rome than in LA. Who'a thunk it?
17th January 2007

Have Fun!
Have fun and can't wait for the photos, please keep blogging!!!

Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1002s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb