Italy!!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Reggio Emilia
May 23rd 2012
Published: May 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Nick and Mark's WindowNick and Mark's WindowNick and Mark's Window

This is the window that looks out to the street. It is really pretty but picture doesn't really show how cute it really is!
A hop, skip and a plane ride from London! We had a great flight then proceeded to get on the train fro Parma to reggio emilia. Glad we came after the big Quake that happened here. There is some damage as you can expect fro an area that has such old buildings. he sad part was that at this point 7 people lost their ives and any are left without homes. For the most part everything seems to be going as usual even though several buildings have some daage and barriers surrounding them. Nick and Marks place is very centrally located with cafe's, shop's surroundng it. We wet right away to their favorite hang out spot here everyone seems so nice and welcoming. They go have coffee in the ornng, Prosecco and apertivos in the evenng and los of conversation. The Italians are learning English and they are learning Italian, Perfeccto! I myself will leave the talking to them except for the pleasantries like Hello, good-by, Than you and that is about it. I will say I can understand a lot more than I thought I would but as for speaking......

Writing this three days later after going to Venice.
Reggio EmiliaReggio EmiliaReggio Emilia

Cool building
Venice was the most beautiful, Amazing, Old city that you could go to!!!! I just put up the pictures and let me tell you everthing was a big photo op!!!! I mean crazy you just want to snap away! So instead of writing about how much fun I a having because I am I thought my photos could tell some of the story. I have more to share but have to go have my cafe and pastry to get the day started. Trattoria pictures to come, so many places so few meals to have on my trip it makes me so sad! Don't feel too bad about eating because we have been walking at least 7 miles a day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 61, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

CemeteryCemetery
Cemetery

This is a Portico. They have all kinds of memorials of family here with eternal flames and large crypts
CemerteryCemertery
Cemertery

This one of the three floors
Reggio Town HallReggio Town Hall
Reggio Town Hall

This is where the Italy created their flag when they became Unified. Beautiful building
The Town HallThe Town Hall
The Town Hall

The host lady let me set in the head seat and wanting e to wave my arms like I was an Italian in discussion! This is where whatever current President of Italy comes every year to commemorate the flag on the anniversary.
CountrysideCountryside
Countryside

Riding our bikes through the countryside and the poppies were in full bloom just beautiful!
Self Serve FlowersSelf Serve Flowers
Self Serve Flowers

Lots of flower stores but for those three hours in the afternoon they are closed some man might need to apologize to his wife so this is available LOL.
Gelato Time!Gelato Time!
Gelato Time!

Fantastic and everywhere!
Bike CountBike Count
Bike Count

This keeps track of all bikes that come into reggio. They are the most bike friendly city in Europe so they say. It keeps count from when they started in 2009 and each days count!
Our Italian PartyOur Italian Party
Our Italian Party

We had a lot of fun and now all the people that came want to have their own party American style! Too funny!
Little places to pray in Venice!Little places to pray in Venice!
Little places to pray in Venice!

These are everywhere for the locals to pray at.
Walk WayWalk Way
Walk Way

This is the last place you will really see any trees in the ground in Venice. A beautiful strolling park. So hard to believe this is built on stilts 2000 or so years ago


27th May 2012

Italy
Nice to see the pics and appreciate u sharing. Brings back fond memories of my journey thry London last summer with my niece. Venice I have been thry once, about ten years ago - very interesting history. LOVE Tuscany area & the small villages. Like yourself, one can easily loose themselves in places throughout Italy and the photos "do not" do the places justice. Kimberly, one of my lovely antique stain glass windows have found a place in your home here in the States - one I altered the size for you, remember me? Safe journey back to our neck of the woods eventually, Kathleen Ernst
27th May 2012
LOL

This is fantastic!
Sei molto elegante! Que bella!
27th May 2012

Wow...Itatly..!!
Wow Kimberly...! It looks fantastic! All the old buildings and it sounds like everyone is friendly! I am soo glad your having a great time! Deb
28th May 2012
Venice

beautiful pics
lot of nice pics and lots of bad spelling must be the wine lol enjoy love you babe
28th May 2012
Venice

Bad spelling
Could be some of the wine but it really is that the letter m sticks and the spell checker is weird! Love Ya
30th May 2012

thanks
Loved seeing your adventure. some of the venice pictures are familiar from when E was there. busy time here but good

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb