The First Two Weeks


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Bologna
January 22nd 2010
Published: January 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Getting to Bologna


Ok. So far this blog has been a fail. i keep starting it, and then something happens to my internet and it completely takes everything away because i keep forgetting to save it. maybe just after each sentence i should hit save.

i have been in bologna exactly two weeks. we left the united states on thursday january 7 and arrived here friday morning january 8. we arrived in bologna to a dreary, gray, raining morning which certainly didn't help our jet lag. barely anyone got any sleep on the plane. we were herded onto a bus. we were headed for two dorms--ghigi first and then forni. the large majority of our group was headed towards ghigi (the coed dorm) while I and three other girls were going to Forni (the all girls dorm).

I was, not going to lie, pretty bummed out about being seperated from the majority of the group. the dorms were a good 30 minute walk (at least), and that's a hard distance to beat. Everyone I had gotten to know on the way over was in Ghigi. But it worked out really well--I love the other three girls in Forni, and we are WAY
La ChiesaLa ChiesaLa Chiesa

The Half Finished Chiesa in the main piazza in Bologna--Piazza Maggiore
closer to pretty much everything.

I love Bologna. Except for the gray skies that have barely lessened, the city is beautiful. It will be almost sad to go back to the US after this because it can't really compare.

I share my apartment with three other Italian students. They weren't here when I arrived. On one hand it was nice because it let me get settled, but on the other it was a little lonely. However, the next day, Michela came, and then a few days later Rosita and Mari (my actual roommate) came. They are are so nice and I love them. They don't really speak English but that's great so I can practice my Italian. The only thing I could live without is the smoking, but they don't smoke in my room, which is a large step up from many other people's roommates.



<3333


Advertisement



25th January 2010

great start
I like your initial blogging entry -- i knew the stuff but it was fun to be reminded of it and see the photos with it. I look forward to reading it whenever you add an entry -- ciao- tante baci

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb