Mediterranean Island Hop


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Pompei
June 3rd 2007
Published: April 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Pompeii FrescoPompeii FrescoPompeii Fresco

Fresco in a Roman noble’s home.
After pottering about in the south, I became concious of time running out on my vacation so I made the decision to put in some miles on the autostrada. Normally, freeways are meant to make time and not very scenic however, that’s not the case with the A3. Cutting through beautiful mountains, the A3 offers visual delights with enough sweeping bends to keep things interesting. As freeways go, you could do a lot worse than the A3.

After a day on the autostrada, I had reached the famed Amalfi coast. I had an interest in Amalfi since my father spent time there during World War II. My father fought in the war as a member of the Royal Canadian Artillery that was involved in the forgotten Italian campaign. After being wounded, he was sent to recover in Amalfi at a convent that had been converted into a military hospital. I remember my father waxing nostalgic about the beautiful town.

While in Amalfi, I took the time to visit the nearby ruins of Pompeii. Pompeii is said to have an effect on some people. Unfortunately, I wasn’t one of them. Although I’m a history buff, the ruins didn’t really overwhelm me in that way. Perhaps because I've seen the impressive Roman ruins at Baalbek. But it was an interesting stop all the same. One exception were the plaster casts of the victims who died in the eruption. Some seemed to have sat down and surrendered to their inevitable fate. It was very dramatic to see them as they were in their last moments alive.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Mount VesuviusMount Vesuvius
Mount Vesuvius

All the while Mount Vesuvius watches from above.


Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 46; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb