Up (yours) Pompeii


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Pompei
April 4th 2008
Published: April 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Oooh, my little legs are tired. 300 km in 3 days and a thunderstorm outside of Napoli and up a big hill. So, for a rest, I'm at Pompeii, mulling (a la Frankie Howard). Not much of a rest though. I was expecting a few crumbly columns, maybe a statue, not the great big town that it is. Packs of screaming school kids accompanied by frumpy teachers. Soooo glad I'm not a teacher! I should have done a little research before embarking on that waste of a year. Italians are so vain. Sat opposite a white shellsuit bum fluff moustachio'd youth on the metro patting and preening his hair every time we went through a tunnel, so his reflection was just so. He'd have liked Priapus. There's a charming picture of him in Pompeii weighing his donkey-sized knob on a set of scales. I'm camping just outside Napoli in the crater of an active volcano. It whiffs of sulphur and jets of the stuff whoosh up from yellowed holes. Which makes my cycling kit smell relatively sufferable. Previous night camping in Cassino, famous for Monte Cassino and WW2. Getting out of Rome ok, then 750 m uphill to Fiuggi, where I managed to lock myself into the the only campground, which turned out to be closed and I had to scale an enormous gate to escape and wound up in a cheap hotel. There's been loads of fortified hill towns en route, rather like in Spain and where there's a fortified hill town there's always a hill. Lovely. Outcrops of ladies wearing very little clothing by the side of the road outside the larger towns. I suspect their cars must have broken down. I caught one passing motorist returning from the bushes. Naughty chappy!

Advertisement



5th April 2008

Toilet love
Waiting with baited breath for the second episode of toilet love - i have a feeling italy may prove to be fruitful......perhaps "i just don't know what to do with myself...." another Burt classic

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb