Catania to Naples, a travel day


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Naples
September 8th 2018
Published: September 9th 2018
Edit Blog Post

6:45 - get up, showered and packed

7:30 - breakfast and farewell to Avone & Ron, Catrina & Derek and then Sue and Paul ??

8:00 - leave hotel to walk to Central train station

8:40 - Inter city train to Naples. Enjoyed the view of Mt Etna along the way as I was also communicating with Adele (in NZ) and Clare (in Perth) as I followed the demise of the Swans.

At Messina the train went inside a ship. I got off the train and caught up with Paul & Judy and Phil & Sue as we bought an Arancini. Back on the train once we were on the mainland. Decided that this process is not as exciting as it sounds!

Really enjoyed the scenic coastline along the way. The train round Mt Vesuvius- two volcanoes in one day!

Arrived in Naples late - was due in at 4:15 but did arrive until closer to 5pm. Decided I would walk to the hotel, even though I knew it would take 40 minutes. I really must remember that i need to consider the "degree of difficulty" which trying to drag a suitcase along on cobblestones in a hot, humid city adds to what I would normally consider a 'good walk'. I then had trouble finding the actual entrance to my hotel as it is inside an art gallery. By the time I checked in it was closer to 6pm. Long day of not really doing anything.

Pretty impressive neighbourhood although I have told myself I cannot go out and explore until I get my blog up to date. Three more days to write - sigh. Around 8pm my phone rang and it was Jacqui. We agreed to meet up at 8:15 and head out for a bite to eat. We met a couple of people who were on our tour tomorrow as well as a couple of people that had just finished the tour. Michele arrived so it was nice to see him.

Jacqui and I headed downstairs - our hotel is actually in an art gallery, which is stunning. We ended up deciding to have something to eat very close to the hotel. It was nice but a bit of a rip off - I guess this is what happens when you're in the big city!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb