Conca dei Marini


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Conca dei Marini
August 28th 2015
Published: August 29th 2015
Edit Blog Post

It is Friday August 28 and I am in Conca dei Marini. Mark and I have beaten our luggage and arrived first to our next destination. We set off from Amalfi at 7.45am on our day's walk. We were here well before the ETA despite making a few wrong turns which had us back tracking. I am feeling better about our walking now. I think I will be able to do the other two walks even though they will be longer. They are certainly arduous, or at least, I am finding them so. Once in our room, we found ourselves in the embarrassing position of having stripped off (we were both saturated from sweating and feeling overheated), with no clean clothes to change into. Plans were quickly hatched to hide in the bathroom and shout out our thanks from behind the closed door.
Well, the bags arrived and dignity was somehow maintained.Later, Mark and I had a hair raising 750 metre walk along the main Amalfi road facing oncoming traffic (!) to get to La Grotta Smeralda. At one point, the cars were banked up both ways for ages because a big bus and a truck had both got to the same bend in the road at the same time. On the truck side of the gridlock, cars had to reverse one by one until the truck could finally reverse and the big bus move by. We sauntered past the idling cars with cross looking people in them. I have to say I was smugness personified!The grotto was very lovely with its emerald coloured water. It is caused by the sunlight from outside the rock illuminating the inside of the grotto's clear water through the underwater opening to the cave. We walked back to our hotel and rested. This is a real resort place; nothing to do except swim in a pool or sun bake. Not really my thing. I kind of wish I was back in Ravello, my favourite place so far. Eventually, we decided to visit the pool for a swim because any other activity would have required more clambering up and down steep stepped paths. While it was lovely in the pool, what I really wanted was to swim in that fabulously azure ocean That kept captivating my gaze. Luckily enough, by making our way down yet more steps, we found a way down to the water's edge. I have to say that swimming off one of the cliffs with Amalfi clearly visible from my cool, refreshing watery place was one of the absolute great moments I have experienced. It was fabulous!

Dinner was a long climb back up at least 800 steps to Le Bontà del Capo. Great fish (that's all we ever eat now, no meat have I eaten in two weeks), great sunset, great moonrise. To get "home" we afailed ourselves of a free shuttle ride back down, thank goodness!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb