Un Spuntino


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Apulia » Brindisi
March 11th 2007
Published: March 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A delicacyA delicacyA delicacy

urchins are rightly considered a delicacy by Brindisinos.
This means “a snack” in Italian. And in Italy and many other cultures, if it walked, ran, galloped, waddled, flew, burrowed, swam, etc. etc., it is fair game for eating. Well, I was recently introduced to the fine art of eating ricci or sea urchin; Italian style of course. Since I hadn’t ever eaten sea urchin, our good friend Vincenzo wouldn’t stand for this shortcoming in my life and insisted that I must have some ricci. So Vincenzo and Sara came over with a couple of dozen urchins in a plastic bag. Sea urchin can be found by diving for them or find them clinging to rocks in the shallows. According to Vincenzo, the best tasting ones are the ones in deeper water. It is too cold for diving this time of year and so we had to eat some of the more pedestrian tasting urchins.
What one eats is the roe (eggs) of the urchin. First one snips out a hole around the opening of the urchin. Then a bit of the sea water from the inside of the other urchins is poured in the freshly opened urchin. Next one can daintily scoop out the roe with a bit of
Snipped openSnipped openSnipped open

A delicate grip and sharp scissors are necessary.
bread or do as a true Brindisino would and drink the water and lick the inside of the urchin clean. You will note that some of the roe is quite red and some yellowish. The redder the roe, the better tasting; really! The trick is to ignore the fact that the newly opened urchin are still crawling around in the bowl as they are still alive. If you are going for the primal approach in eating urchin senza pane (without bread) be careful not to stick one of the barbs in your tongue. It is best to be absolutely sober in this case.
I, for one, really liked them. So now to sum up my acculturation to Italian life:
1. I drive like I am late to a meeting with the pope.
2. Have mastered a fine repertoire of Italian swear words and expressions.
3. Have taken to gesticulating with my hands while talking.
4. Start out my day with a caffeine bomb disguised as a teeny cup of coffee.
5. Every evening meal is capped off with a digestivo.
6. Know that no problem is worth getting upset over if you talk about it to death.
7. Read the
Red RoeRed RoeRed Roe

Red roe-ver,red roe-ver, send your eggs right over!
Corriere Della Sera the evening paper to see whats up.
In my next installment of “Eating Adventures with Vincenzo”, I will report on barbequing horse and ass (donkey) meat. All of which gives new meaning to the expression “Getting your ass handed to you on a platter.”
By the by, the travel blog is experiencing problems with the subscription service. The guy that runs travelblog.org is trying to get it fixed. In the meantime, just bookmark it and go to it periodically. I haven’t posted much recently as we got sick for a couple of weeks and fell behind at work and everything else. I may be finally getting caught up.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Getting the ScoopGetting the Scoop
Getting the Scoop

Thought I'd try this method first.
Those BarbsThose Barbs
Those Barbs

look and feel mighty sharp!
Careful, carefulCareful, careful
Careful, careful

"Say Vincenzo, are the barbs poisonous?"
About a hundredAbout a hundred
About a hundred

urchins might fill me up!
A nice proseccoA nice prosecco
A nice prosecco

would accompany this very well indeed.


11th March 2007

We've lost you!
This latest missive really made me laugh, and wonder if we'll see you again State-side, or whether you'll just eat, drink and gesticulate yourself to a slow, expatriated death (but not until the next century, at least). Worse ways to go than that! Keep us posted!
12th March 2007

Where's Beth?
Stephen and I both want to know where the pictures are of Beth eating urchin...I think I'll take my prosecco senza the urchin.
12th March 2007

Un spuntino
She was most definitely a bit hesitant, but in the end a real trooper and proceeded to eat some ricci. She did however opt out of licking the urchin bowl clean. I think that if the roe had been a bit "squirmy," she may have been an onlooker. Beth's feet are visible in the photo with Sara and Vincenzo.
12th March 2007

Un Spuntino
We have had the grossest head colds ever! We were sick for two weeks and we got so far behind we have just begun to break even. Plus our internet connection is soooo slooowww and the laptop freezes up continually. But we eat well and very good wine is available for very cheap prices. Eating is like a religion with the Italians and I already belonged to that faith! I have other posts that I will be adding in the next few days. And in two weeks we shall head north on spring break. We will be skiing at a place called La Thiule. Lots of photos and posts to follow.
15th March 2007

ugh!!
Those urchins remind of the movie "The Langoliers", I think that is how it is spelled. It is a movie based off Stephen King book, no I don't read Stephen King because I am a scary cat. I caught the movie as I was scaning;actually channel surfing the other day. Well I am glad you enjoyed your urchins! Did Doug ever email you a picture of me and my fish!! Yes I caught a fish!! Talk to you later.
16th March 2007

Un Spuntino
Hiya Viv, no I have not received any photos of you and and any fish. Stephen King and urchins? That can't be any more weird than eating cow eyes when mom made barbacoa! Or the cow cheeks, or the tongue, or the brains with scrambled eggs...hmmm I think that sound in the background comes from people losing their lunch. Har dee har har!

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0914s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb