Looking Back .. Summer 2004 July 5th, 6th, and 7th


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Abruzzo » Pescara
June 4th 2008
Published: June 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Monday July 5,2004 -Departure

" I'm Leaving on a Jet Plane..."

Today was a very busy day! I was running around like a crazy women, getting everything ready. I was so excited to get to the airport! However, I was worried, because the teachers who booked the trip put my sisters name on it instead of mine, so I had to pick up my ticket at the booth at the airport... what if it wasnt ready? would I still be able to go!? just what I needed anxiety before getting on the plane for 8.5 hrs.

We arrived at the airport, got my ticket, but now my boarding pass had the worng name and the skyservice rep couldnt change it in the system for some reason so just crossed out the wrong name and put my name on it

We took a huge group picture with everyone, parents, students and all the teachers, said good bye to our families and then we all went through security!

My parents where very worried seeing how I was nearlly 17 and off to Italy for 3 weeks, for school with my high school, but still my first real big trip 'by myself'

Throughtout this blog of Summer 2004 I will have culture, history and words I learnt during my travels!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday July 6th, 2004 - Arrival in Roma!

Intro:

I was finally here in Roma! I was so Happy and excited and I wasn't even off the airplane yet! I just, couldn't wait to get off the stuffy overcrowed airplane, ROma was just steps away!! Ahhhh

I couldn't believe that I was finally standing in Rome, Crossing the road was a bit of a challenge! But by the end of the trip I'm sure I willl be pro! We collected all of our stuff then went through customs, he just stamped my passport.

Oh ya, after we got off the plane we had to take this shuttle like subway thingy to another terminal to get our luggage.

Next was to hop on a bus for 3 hrs ! (off to Francaville, Pescara)

Art/history: I thought it was cool that the airport in Rome was called Da Vincci after the famous Inventor/Artisan

Language: No Entrata meaning No Entrance

Culture: We went to the washroom in the airport, and the toilets were like a hole in the ground. Very different from What I am used to in Canada!

Conclusion: over the 2 days that we did not have any/or very little sleep, I was very happy and excited to Start touring!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wed. July 7th, 2004 - "Beach Day"

Francaville, Pescara

Intro:

Today was the first day we woke up here. It was like 4:30 am and I heard a few voices and I thought I heard my dad's voice. and I flet as thought I was still at home in my roo. Then like 10 min later a rooster decied it was time for me to wake up! It went on for at least an hours (err...) Finally at 7:15 am I decied to wake up, and go down for breakfast, and be on my way. After breakfast we went to the beach!

It was So So So hot! the Sand was boiling! I couldn't even walk on it! I got so hot I went into the sea! the Adreatic Sea that is! I was in the Sea for like 40min with everyone! It was so much fun! We played on the beach all morning until lunch! ANd then from 3pm to like 630pm

YEah, during that time my camerea decied it didnt want to work!and one of the teachers tried to fix it. But we couldn't figure it out. Luckly one of the teachers had an extra camera and let me use it for the next 3 weeks!

Language: Prego can mean your welcome or Can I help you!

Culture: The drivers here are very crazy, they are all in small little cars or motor-cycles

Conclusion: I had a very good day! I didnt get burned! but I really felt that I should call my parents to let them know I was there safe - Thank goodness I was able to talk to them





Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb