Second Leg of the Trip!!! Buona Viaggio!!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Abruzzo » L'Aquila
September 15th 2007
Published: September 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Bakery TourBakery TourBakery Tour

Julie insisted we not wear the hats and booties...but the owner told her she had to....Lois kept asking for more pizzelles - we found her in the closet eating 3 at one time!!!!
WELL...WE'RE ON THE LAST LEG OF OUR TOUR...AND FINISHING UP IN L'AQUILA...NEXT TO ROMA!!! THEN HOME TO SEE MY WONDERFUL FAMILY!!! IT HAS BEEN THE TRIP OF A LIFETIME AND GETTING TO EXPERIENCE THE REAL ITALIA HAS BEEN SOOOOO EXCITING! WE HAVE BEEN NON STOP EATING, WINE TASTING, AND SHOPPING!!! CHITARA OUR TOUR GUIDE HAS BEEN PHENOMENAL!!!! SHE KEEPS US GOING SOOO MUCH WE CAN BARELY MAKE IT UPSTAIRS TO OUR ROOMS AT NIGHT TO LAY OUR HEADS DOWN...I HOPE YOU'VE ENJOYED THE PICS OF THE BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY SIDE. TODAY WE HAD THE ABSOLUTE BEST RAVIOLIS AND ADMIRED ALL THE FAMOUS FILEGREE JEWELRY!!! IT'S JUST AMAZING HOW DELICATE AND DETAILED THESE PIECES ARE! JULIE KEEPS ASKING FOR MORE WINE AND THEY KEEP TELLING HER THE BOTTLE IS EMPTY...BUT SHE STILL INSISTS!!! WHAT'S WRONG WITH THAT PICTURE??? NOT A THING!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

For the non italians!!!For the non italians!!!
For the non italians!!!

These are actually almond candies made into floral arrangements...the candy factory was a wonderful pit stop and Julie kept saying 'flowers we can eat - i'm in heaven!!!'
Cheese FactoryCheese Factory
Cheese Factory

Julie insisted that she was NEVER going to have ricotta cheese again...after seeing how it was made...just as you shouldn't watch sausage being made!!! Lois on the other hand will NEVER stop eating it....!!!
More Breathe-Taking SceneryMore Breathe-Taking Scenery
More Breathe-Taking Scenery

There isn't a place you can look that isn't breath-taking...except the bathrooms and the cheese shop!!! It's just been endless!!!
I thought I saw my....I thought I saw my....
I thought I saw my....

GRANDMOTHER!!! This woman allowed us to take a picture of her - she was soooo sweet! She is 87 years old and a local from the town of Scanno (in of course the Abruzzo Region)...she truly reminded me of my wonderful grandmother who I miss soooo terribly!!!!
Meeting the Locals!!!Meeting the Locals!!!
Meeting the Locals!!!

We meet a few local families and their children...it was sooo nice!!! Lois gave them American flag pins and they were SOOOO grateful! His name was Tomas!!!
Belle Raviolis!Belle Raviolis!
Belle Raviolis!

Today we ate the BIGGEST raviolis I have EVER had in my life...we watched the chef make them in the back kitchen and then sat down to enjoy ANOTHER (OMG) 4 course meal with white and red local Abruzzo wine!!! IT WAS SPECTACULAR!!! Benissimo!!!!
THANKS TO OUR FAMILIESTHANKS TO OUR FAMILIES
THANKS TO OUR FAMILIES

A HUGH THANKS GOES OUT TO OUR FAMILIES FOR SUPPORTING US AND KEEPING THE ABODE TOGETHER WHILE WE WENT ON THIS TRIP!!!! ANOTHER GREAT PAGE IN OUR BOOK OF LIFE!!! LOVE AND KISSES XOXOXOXOOXOXO


23rd September 2007

Abbruzzo is truly the best kept secret in Italy.
Visiting Italy has always been my dream. I am so happy to say that I finally did it. The treasures of my memories will last throughout my life time. To have walked through the villages and experienced the life style of these fine yet simple people made me realize that all of the "stuff" and the riches and the successes truly cannot compare to the simplicity, culture, the fine foods and the vino that the Italian people live.

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb