Ireland Pics


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
August 11th 2012
Published: August 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

cliffs near the causewaycliffs near the causewaycliffs near the causeway

mistically magical
It's been almost two weeks since we left Ireland, a little over a week since I made it home and back to the world of work. Needless to say, life is back to being insanely busy, but that's okay because I'm earning mullah for the next big adventure (which is in October when I get to hike the Grand Canyon and spend a night near Havasupai Falls ---- awesomeness!).

What I miss most about Ireland is the misty greens, pub stops, small towns (and all of its people) and cooler temps (it's been around 116F all week; I'm freakin melting over here). What I don't miss is feeling like I'm related to Guliver. The showers, the roads, the cars all made me feel so damned huge. Guliver's Travels was not a satire about our petty politics; it was all about how lovely Ireland discriminates against those of us who are larger than a Leprechaun.

But, this isn't why you guys are here reading this blog. I promised you pictures, so here you go. First off I do have to apologize because I soooo wanted to edit and upload the best of what we took, but the work world is demanding a lot out of me right now. Soooo, it's all just a taste (and not always the best one), but it'll do. Hopefully, it'll tempt you enough to scrimp and save so you too can go!


Additional photos below
Photos: 72, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

first place we atefirst place we ate
first place we ate

Our favorite place to eat in Dublin
cheerscheers
cheers

our first official toast
my favorite picturemy favorite picture
my favorite picture

of Joe, me, Kelly and Kaylene
Belfast:  City HallBelfast:  City Hall
Belfast: City Hall

The younguns trying on ceremonial robes
BelfastBelfast
Belfast

somewhere there
Titanic's Birth CanalTitanic's Birth Canal
Titanic's Birth Canal

From here she was launched into her first and final journey
Belfast:  City HallBelfast:  City Hall
Belfast: City Hall

waiting for the Lord Mayor. Now, take a good look at how we're dressed...
Titanic ExperienceTitanic Experience
Titanic Experience

it's a pretty cool building, isn't it!
City HallCity Hall
City Hall

all decked out waiting for the Olympics to start. A Jumbotron is on the front lawn.
Ericka and JoeEricka and Joe
Ericka and Joe

wearing the robes
Lord JoeLord Joe
Lord Joe

sitting in the Lord Mayor's chair. The seat is so high Joe's feet were dangling.
Joe, me and lil cowsJoe, me and lil cows
Joe, me and lil cows

all over City Hall were cow sculptures from a fun art project. I loved them!


12th August 2012

Green with Envy
Hi! I'm so thrilled to see your pics up here. A friend just got back from Ireland last week and now I see this--I am dying to go. It will be a while--but someday. . . . Glad you had a wonderful summer. Have a good first week--it's great to see your smiling face in these photos--great blog. K.
12th August 2012

so glad you liked it...
as a lover of language you HAVE to go ---- just to listen to the many ways you can manipulate our language into something witty and lovely at the same time. The sights and pubs are pretty awesome too!
18th August 2012

Enticing Shots
Bettina, your images crisp, clear, and interesting; they truly make me want to save my pennies to travel to this beautiful country. Thank you for sharing.

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0767s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb