Escape from the Cubicle


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
December 3rd 2010
Published: January 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It's December 3rd in Cork, Ireland. Im sitting at my desk at half ten in the morning.
Over the past number of months I've come to realise that what I do for eight hours a day is not how I want to spend the roughly 230 days a year doing for the rest of my existence.
My job is repetition, I will complete the same task today that I have completed for the past five years since leaving college. Fund accounting; described by the good people of fundservices.net as: "the maintenance of proper accounting records for a fund, in accordance with local laws, regulations and accounting standards."
This is of course as interesting as it sounds.
There is more to this planet of ours. Don't get me wrong, I'm ever so greatful for the priviledged upbringing and education I have received, For the sacrifices my parents made to afford me the level of comfort I currently live in; A lifestyle that countless millions around the globe would give their right arm to have.
But in this current lifestyle that I have manufactured from the celtic tiger era, where the Joneses not only need to be kept up with, but surpassed with comodities at every opportunity. Happiness and real life experiences are few and far between in this consumerist world I have thrown myself into so willingly in search of what I thought was "happiness".
I am a victim of my own ignorance, let me be the first to admit it.
Thankfully I did not reach the appropriate age where it is deemed fit for one to take out an enormous amount of debt and "settle down" by buying a semi-d in the "burbs" and that big petrol guzzling SUV.
I am not of course intimating that my circumstance and environment defines me, as George Bernard Shaw put it: "People are always blaming their circumstances for what they are. I don't believe in circumstances. The people who get on in this world are the people who get up and look for the circumstances they want, and, if they can't find them, make them."
So with this in mind I have decided to flee the comfortable ignorance I find myself in.
Admitedly I had become a willing slave of the very circumstance I referred to above.
I left college five years ago, with an underwhelming degree in Accounting and Finance with French, and lost touch with the dreams I dreamt a few years earlier of throwing a backpack on my back and setting off.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb