Fields of lettuce


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
June 25th 2005
Published: June 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Since I'm in Cork for about the 50th time, I decided to try a different internet cafe. I went for the one that looked like a gamer's dream, with posters of Warcraft everywhere, because I figured if a gamer's dream internet cafe didn't have USB ports, no one did.

Voila! Pictures!

Things at the vegan farm are definitely interesting. The last two basically just had big vegetable gardens, but this one is definitely a vegetable farm. Yesterday I planted 330 leaks. (Yes. I counted.) There are at least 5 distinctly different varieties of lettuce, and there's at least 3 or 4 huge patches of them... all I know is that there are more lettuces than leaks, so.. a lot. Also - FORESTS of asparagus. Have you ever seen an asparagus plant? It's fantastic.

Today we are selling lettuce. (And by 'we', I mean a couple members of the family. I just came along to Cork with them because... c'mon. Cork. It's fun. And it's my day off.) Actually, I'm getting scarily used to being on the left side of the road. It all seems really normal and it's hard to imagine the steering wheel being on the left side of the car anymore.

The vegan thing is working out well. I think it's a really healthy way to eat, actually - mostly vegetables and fruit, but lots of curries and rice and bread (they grind their own bread, actually. And make their own tofu. I'm learning how to make tofu.. it's easier than you'd expect.)

And there's an interesting situation with the neighbors. The neighbors are cattle farmers who do their own butchering.
... yeah.

Guess where I'm staying, by the way? In another caravan.
This one is smaller and without a stove - but it is completely clean and without insect invasions. So I like it a lot.

Anyway, that's about it. I'm going to go eat some seriously non-vegan food right now. I'm torn between tea and a scone, or walking into the dominos across the street. It's sort of Irish.. their national style of food is 'grease', so it fits.

Oh - and make sure you go back and look at the older entries - I added pictures of the B&B farm and the gypsy caravan in the mountains. I have more, but that seems like enough for now. See you later!

Advertisement



25th June 2005

creeper
so i'm glad you're having fun in ireland... but i just had to tell you... do you remember that creep kid dan weaver? well he works at sonic!!!!! ahhhh!!! he's such a creeeeeeeep!!!!! anyway just wanted to tell you...
25th June 2005

I am so jealous!
25th June 2005

Thanks for your updates
Great writing by the way. I'm happy to hear of your experiences. My Grandpa Carl's lawn tractor engine has died. I decided that no matter what, I would fix up the tractor. I want to be driving my Grandpa's tractor when I'm 80, just to honor him if nothing else. The tractor was manufactured in February of 1970. (Internet serial number check). I bought a replacement motor on the internet and have installed it, with help from Cub Cadet (that's the tractor brand) fans around the country. Amazing. Is this story better than hearing about cleaning the house or doing the laundry?
27th June 2005

So Fun!
Hey Haley, it certainly sounds like you're having fun. Making tofu too, you'll have to let me try some of it some day! It is a true pleasure to read this journal and follow your adventures, plus the pictures are beautiful. Keep that happy traveling spirit,

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb