Wicklow Mountains


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Wicklow » Enniskerry
September 10th 2015
Published: April 23rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

I only had a few days free, so jumped on a plane to Dublin and decided to hike a small portion of the Wicklow way. There are 2 ways you can start, either at Maryland park in Dublin or walk the coastal path. I took the coastal path and off I went. In my mind I never expected Ireland to have a beach but it showed me. Along the coastal path, were small stretches of beach, nature reserves, parks, the view constantly changing. A shuttle follows the line of the coast, so if you get tired, you can just pop on and get off at Bray. I settled down in Knockree hostel for the night, a few miles from the small village of Enniskerry.
New day, new adventure. Woke up birds singing and sunshine pouring through the window. Got ready and I was gone. The mountains are covered in a variety of different trees and ferns, green as far as the eye could see. Walking down the mountain there is a beautiful winding stream, deep red in colour from the iron in the mountains. Further up the mountain it turns into a forest plantation, mostly coniferous trees, a waterfall in the distance. In between plantations the mountain is covered in vast colours of purple and yellows, heather and broom encompass the area, the sweet smell of flowers in the air. The ground glitters beneath your feet with the mica in the soil, large boulders of shiny silver poke out from the moray of colours. I get to a peak at the top stands a lone goat staring at me, I stay for a while, taking in the view and crisp air. This is all I can do for the day, heading back down towards the hostel, sunbathing next to the stream before I settle in for the night.
Next day I head back to Dublin along the Wicklow way to Maryland park. Vast heath lands and meandering paths await me. Wild deer and rabbit roam freely, sheep scattered across the passing farmlands. Utter quite and serenity just the sound of the wind blowing through.
Once at Maryland park there is a small sheltered trail to the main park, passing ponds, decorated fairy trees, mini waterfalls and idyllic bridges opening up onto open park space, great for resting after along days walking.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb