Adventure's what I came here for right??


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Sligo » Mullaghmore
June 25th 2011
Published: June 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Here's some pictures from the museum I forgot to post! Enjoy :)Here's some pictures from the museum I forgot to post! Enjoy :)Here's some pictures from the museum I forgot to post! Enjoy :)

A boat over 2000 years old! The bogs preserve everything, it's sooo creepy..and neat!
Well, another week gone and it's officially (as of 3 days ago) my third month anniversary of living in Ireland! I think I may bake a cake tomorrow to celebrate.....I can't believe that the time has been going by so fast and although I still have plenty of time, I'm starting to hit something similar to a "mid-trip" crisis. I'm frantic to go see and do as much as I can, but seeing as I sprained my ankle this week (more on that later!) I clearly need to slow it down a bit. I somehow got the notion that time was running out and I needed to do more, see more and this is the result. Never fear, my ankle is already starting to look slightly better and I'm taking it easy; resting, icing and pretty much being bored out of my mind trapped in my flat. I missed an epic birthday party last night (Nic if you're reading this I apologize and am absolutely devastated that I couldn't make it!!) and am just itching with the need to go socialize. It's amazing how living in a big city can change your habits and I constantly feel the need to be on the move; seeing things or people and doing something exciting. It's like being an adrenaline junkie honestly and as much as I love Dublin and feel like it's my home, I'm already feeling the need to move. I thought that once I settled in and got my life on track that I would be content, but obviously that restlessness that I've had for the past year is not giving up yet.

Last week is a good example; I was feeling a little dejected due to my increasingly mundane lifestyle and felt this insatiable need to do something different, anything! I just needed to feel that freedom of being in control of my life and do something spontaneous. So, I booked a weekend riding adventure on the west coast in Sligo, packed a few things and took off for the coast and had a blast! I stayed at this lovely B&B where I met Kirsten from Arizona (technically Germany, shout-out to my new bestest American friend! 😊 ) who is wonderful and will soon be my companion on another riding trip that we're planning sometime in July hopefully. The riding was unbelievable and I did two 4 hour treks along the gorgeous white sand beaches of Sligo around Mullaghmore and through the bogs and forests around the mountains. The gallops along the beach were by far the best part and something I will remember for the rest of my life. There's nothing more freeing and refreshing than galloping flat-out through the Atlantic waves, sun shining overhead (believe it or not, I had fantastic weather ALL weekend which is unheard of out there!) and it was just what I needed.

The weather was actually so good that I got an amazing sunburn (I know, Ireland right?) and was so ridiculously sore after 8 hours in the saddle that Monday morning back at work had to be the most dismal day of my life. I could almost feel my soul sapping out of me as I arrived back in Dublin City! Ok....maybe it wasn't THAT bad, it felt good coming home but I have been absolutely bewitched by the west. There's something in those wild hills and the atmosphere that has me longing to pack my bags and head out of Dublin. If I do, it definitely won't be for a while yet but it's definitely been occupying my mind with more frequency. And I think I'll need a change of pace eventually right? It has me just dying to get back in the saddle permanently and I'd be lying if I said I hadn't looked up some grooming jobs in Ireland. A couple months working on a farm again before I take up the rest of my European travels may be just what I need. In the meantime, I'm going to enjoy the city and my friends, have fun and keep on travelling. Starting next week until the end of August I have something planned every single weekend so it's going to be a blast.

I finally booked everything for our amazing birthday weekend trip to London (yay!) and I am getting increasingly excited for my family trip to Greece. There are so many exciting and fun things I get to do between now and then, so things are definitely looking up! So I won't keep boring you with my deep reflections since I'm sure you just really want to see my pictures of Sligo haha! I'm going to ice my ankle again and finish cleaning my apartment (yes, I can be domestic when I need to) so
Ancient spurs and bits...Ancient spurs and bits...Ancient spurs and bits...

Hasn't really changed in 1000 years huh?
enjoy the pictures and I send all my love to everyone back home! Miss you and love you lots!

xoxo Sarah


Additional photos below
Photos: 211, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Creepy bog people ahhhh!!Creepy bog people ahhhh!!
Creepy bog people ahhhh!!

This was possibly the creepiest/coolest thing I have ever seen in my life. Seriously.


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb