Cork to Killarney


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kerry
April 21st 2015
Published: April 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Mizen Head - looking NorthMizen Head - looking NorthMizen Head - looking North

I think my most spectacular photo so far...
Tuesday. I had read that the short train trip from Cork to Cobh was scenic and worth doing, and since I like train rides, I had included it on my planned itinerary. So I drove back up to Cork in the morning to do this trip. Turned out to be a waste of four hours of the day – the trip follows the coast around, but it is nearly all industrial wasteland and warehouses. The train ride between Hornsby and Gosford is many times better. The worst aspect, though, is it meant that I was rushing for the rest of the day, and didn’t have the time to take things in. I had little idea of how much time it takes to drive anywhere here, the roads being winding and slow.

Anyhow, after Cork I headed west and made my way back to the coast to enjoy the splendid scenery. I made the decision to go all the way down to Mizen Head – Ireland’s most south-westerly point. This is a rugged and super-spectacular place – check out the bridge across to the light station. The clear blue sky and bright sunlight added to the spectacle.

I then had the drive up to Killarney, and my GPS wanted to take me inland, by what seemed to me a long route. I decided to over-ride it and stick to the N71 road, directly north. What I didn’t know was that this route is a winding, slow road and I didn’t get to Killarney until 8pm! But what scenery!! The road climbs the ranges over the Caha Pass, winding up past wonderful views, through tunnels in the rock, then descending down towards the rivers and lakes on the north side. Then one enters the Killarney National Park, with the most beautiful scenes and magnificent views over the lakes of Killarney. Unfortunately I didn’t have much time to stop and take photos! However, today I plan to drive around the Ring of Kerry, and will get to see parts of this again.

Today taught me not to try to do too much. I will now plan to do less things in a day, and make sure I am not rushing from place to place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Scene near Mizen HeadScene near Mizen Head
Scene near Mizen Head

Do the cows appreciate their view?
Lakes of KillarneyLakes of Killarney
Lakes of Killarney

Looking north from Ladies View


22nd April 2015

Overachiever John!
Yes it's a valuable lesson to learn to not overdo things and try to do too much! We took it to the limit in France with our tour, but I think we were on the edge!! The rugged scenery in Ireland is spectacular!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb