The Ring of Kerry


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kerry » Sneem
August 29th 2019
Published: August 30th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today’s journey began with the “Ladies View” adjacent to the Lake of Killarney on the Ring of Kerry. The rain was with us, as it has been for the last few days, and I chose to stay on the bus when we arrived at the Killarney National Park and the Victorian mansion Muckross House and gardens.



An hour later, St. Mary’s Cathedral was waiting across the bridge in Killarney, the rain had subsided and I ventured out. The town’s 19th century buildings were beautiful and a few of us had some good Asian fusion for lunch. A little shopping, and back to the bus to continue our trip around The Ring. Beautiful, stunning cliffs and although the rainy weather didn’t promote great photos the experience was exhilarating.



When we returned to Sneem, Kerry went for a nap and I went to the village center for a bit of espresso and a freshly baked scone at Kelly’s Bakery, Deli, Coffee House. I had been there the day before and thought today I’d sit hidden in the back of the cafe and check my emails, etc. but not long after I sat down Pauline, a lovely woman,
a couple of years younger than I, joined me for a chat. I had seen her here, in fact she had waited on me at the counter, as we talked I discovered she was the proprietor of Kelly’s and had been born 40 some years ago in the building within which we sat. Her story was quite interesting, she had lived all over the world including the States but had come home last year to take over the family business due to her father’s ill health. Her elderly father and mother still were active, in fact her father was now running a souvenir shop next door! As we sat and chatted, I learned that Pauline was up around 3:30 each morning to prepare the sourdough bread starter and mix the scone batter. The treasure she shared with me this day was twofold... I learned how much family meant to her and she allowed me a peak at the family cookbook that had been kept over the ages and that was used to produce such delicious pastries at Kelly’s Bakery.



This day, that had started out rainy for me, was clearing both physically and mentally. I headed back to our hotel on a hiking trail from the village center to our hotel where I encountered “Red” the chief Sneem Hotel greeter... a beautiful four legged prince.



Kerry and I had a quick bite to eat at a local pub with some of the others in our group and then met up with Batt, Tom and Jay and the rest to end our last evening in Sneem sharing stories, poems and a little bit of music.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement








30th August 2019

What a wonderful day! Thanks for sharing your adventure! I sure would love to see that cookbook!

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0844s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb