The Clouds of Moher... and the Village of Sneem


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kerry » Sneem
August 27th 2019
Published: August 28th 2019
Edit Blog Post

It was a rainy morning as we began our day headed toward the Cliffs of Moher. We passed Dunleavy castle, and when we arrived at the Cliffs ... there was a steady, moderate rain - we had reached the picturesque, popular cliffs with a heavy cloud of fog settling in for the morning. That didn’t deter me though, because I was determined to get something from the experience. While many people were headed into the exhibit indoors, I was curious and so I journeyed out to the cliffs. As I got closer to the water, I was able to get a few photos; however, the visibility was almost nil. Walking from one side to the other for a clearer perspective, a cow’s look pretty much said it all ... “It’s not a good day for this folks.” I persisted and decided to climb the stairs to the last lookout point before returning to the bus, when I heard the faint sound of an accordion. Yep, right on the path in the rain, was Noel.. a street musician or in this case a path musician. I went up to him, paused, held my umbrella over his wet head and he looked up
and smiled. I waited for him to finish his tune, and I told him thank you for playing, in turn, he replied, “A pleasing moment of profound happiness,” and his eyes spoke love.

I made my way to the point with mist... and rain...and clouds - but the music I heard sustained me.

We left The Cliffs of Moher covered in cloud of dew and continued toward the town of Sneem. On our way we passed ruins and castles (Google says there’s over 30,000 castles and castle ruins in Ireland - I believe it!) and made a pit stop in Bunratty where we took a look at Bunratty castle and the famed 400 year old pub named Durty Nelly’s.

As the skies began to clear we arrived in Sneem, (the birth town of our storyteller guide Batt) in the late afternoon, checked into our hotel and had a luscious dinner before making our way to the Sneem Tavern for storytelling, Irish tunes and some talented Irish jig masters. It was really an uplifting night and when asked by Batt to give it a try I did a few twirls ?.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement





Pseudo Cliffs of MoherPseudo Cliffs of Moher
Pseudo Cliffs of Moher

When there’s clouds go to the green screen and fake it!
Bus to Ring of KerryBus to Ring of Kerry
Bus to Ring of Kerry

Note the Kerry that is sleeping





30th August 2019

That’s my cuz! Persisting in the rain! Lol! Glad you did. Sounds awesome!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb