Preparing to depart Cork for Killarney


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kerry » Killarney
June 4th 2012
Published: June 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hillbilly ChickenHillbilly ChickenHillbilly Chicken

Darn good fried chicken
Monday June 4 Cork – Preparing to depart – Today I focused on taking care of the details for the next phase of my trip and perhaps the most dangerous one. I have rented a car and am driving to Killarney tomorrow where I have rented a bed there in the Killarney Railway Hostel for June 5 through 8th for starters. I may stay longer as after studying the map at length and the Lonely Planet guidebook I have determined that if I rent a car I can use Killarney as a home base and make day trips to The Ring Of Kerry, the Dingle peninsula, Mizen Head, Killarney National Park and the Gap of Dunloe, and whatever else I come across or find out about. The main thing I have to watch out for is to make sure I stay on the left side of the road…. That is what makes it dangerous. Still…..this looks to be the real meat of this trip. Tomorrow I will pick up my rental car at the Cork Airport and head West towards Killarney. I plan on making a side trip to the Michael Collins ambush site near Beal-na-Blath on the way towards Killarney from Cork.

There was a marathon going on here in Cork today so I had to work around it and that combined with it being a bank holiday meant that the ATM’s were out of money and the buses were taking odd and unusual routes to get around blocked off streets if they were running at all.

I did find some doggone good southern fried chicken here. It’s called Hillbilly’s traditional fried chicken. It is really good. It is supposed to be Appalachian style fried chicken.

Well I guess I had better wrap it up and get to bed. Tomorrow will be a long day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb