Ireland The South Day 4


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kerry » Ballybunion
September 13th 2016
Published: September 13th 2016
Edit Blog Post

The Cliffs of MoherThe Cliffs of MoherThe Cliffs of Moher

9km south of Doolon.
Ireland Day 4
What amazing views today. The wild Atlantic crashing into the rocks and forming the perfect wave for the surfers, whose heads could be seen bobbing in the ocean. It started with cloud with sun occasionally breaking through. As the day progressed it was sun glasses and sun cream with a red nose to suit. The two kilometre climb out of Doolin caught me out first off with a 20% gradient which got me into my very lowest gear and grunting like a Gloucestershire Old Spot. I think I climbed for nigh on 8 km with more to come as the day went on and there was me thinking it was going to be a long but easy day. It ended up long and hard. That is the trouble following coastal roads and keeping off the main highway. Cafes were also in short supply so I called at a shop which made name the most delicious ham salad sandwich and coffee for 5 euros -bargain. I was weakening in Killrush so sat on the kerb and ate half a cake and some water. The ferry shop also sold coffee and so I had my second ham salad sandwich and coffee whilst waiting for the ferry to arrive. I had already done 95km and climbed 1000m so I needed stoking up. I noticed after leaving County Clare and crossing the mouth of the Shannon and entering County Kerry that the fields were more lush and good milk cow grass as opposed to rough pasture and rushes occupied by beef cattle and sheep. Maybe this is because above the Shannon is the town of Killrush - bad joke. I contacted a friend of mine who has a cottage near Tralee only to find that he is here now but leaving tomorrow lunch time and that is when I would be passing. Bad timing or what? The town of Ballybunnion is quite busy with several pubs with live Irish Folk Singers, but the Ocean Bar and Hostel that I am in seems quite dead with no food at night and few drinkers. The room is quite decent with just two bunks with me alone in one. Oh! I forgot though the toilet seat is missing. Black mark for that. It is now 8.30pm and I feel wrecked so it may be an early night. Not like last night where the pub was busy and I got talking to an Ozzy girl, who lives in Melbourne and works for the NAB bank. The country is full of Ozzies. I forgot to mention I went past a very prestigious golf course today at Doonbeg owned by an American who is in the current news in his bid to run the Whitehouse. Did I say that I had also climbed a few hills? Tomorrow will definitely be easier with half the distance at 66km and 300m ascent to arrive in Tralee at a decent time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Ferry Shop. Ferry Shop.
Ferry Shop.

Shannon crossing.


Tot: 0.566s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb