A Day with the Girls


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway
November 19th 2016
Published: December 12th 2016
Edit Blog Post

While I was in Dublin I developed a sort of bond with Finn and Kevin's two girls - Roisin and Aisling. Roisin and I especially because our personalities are very much alike. Anyway, Bre and I asked Finn if we could hangout with the girls, maybe take them shopping on Shop Street or something. She agreed and we settled on Saturday the 19th of November since Bre would be going home soon. At 2:00pm we met Finn at the town hall, a place by the way, we didn't know where it was even though we had been in Galway for two months. Anyway, she brought us to where the girls were with her cousin. I'd spell her cousin's name, but, well, I don't know how. Anyway, we took them through the Christmas Market. Finn told the girls they could choose one thing to pick out for a treat. Roisin ended up having a meltdown. The funny thing is is that I remember having meltdowns over silly things just like that. It was like I was seeing my five year old self in this little Irish girl. Well, Finn worked her magic on her young daughter and Roisin came back refreshed. After that we walked down Shop Street. Roisin ended up sharing her candy with Aisling, which Aisling ended up dropping. The tears were about to come when Roisin quickly reached into her bag and brought out another piece of candy to fix the situation. Now I'm not sure I would have done that at five, but I was so proud of Roisin for doing it. We brought the girls into the mall while Finn did some Christmas shopping. The girls loved the glitzy store and we put feather boas and hats on them. After we brought them to the toy store. They loved it and Aisling was especially drawn to the animal and dinosaur figures. After that we brought them outside of Penney's and I took Roisin to see the Christmas decorations that were on the first level of the mall. Then we met up with Finn and Kevin and walked through Dunne's, where I was sure the girls were going to tear down the ornaments and break the entire stand. They did not however.

It was getting late so Finn took us to Griffin's where we had tea and scones with the girls and Kevin. While we were waiting we had to keep Roisin and Aisling occupied, so I was having Roisin try and read the "Staff Only"sign. I told her she couldn't go past it and then I asked what it said. She told me it said, "No children allowed," close enough, right? It was such a nice time. Then, with Roisin on my hip and Aisling's hand in mine, we left. It was time to say goodbye and as Roisin was walking away she kept turning back and waving. It was so sad and cute, I didn't want to leave her.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb