Day 10


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Oranmore
July 25th 2011
Published: July 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today we had an morning walking tour (unfortunately in the rain) of Londonderry before heading out on a long drive to Galway. The tour of Londonderry was amazing with a great tour guide. The tour guide provided a lot of information on the conflict and issues in Londonderry. During my time in Northern Ireland I enjoyed learning about the Northern Ireland history (especially about the conflicts) in Belfast and Londonderry We then drove for a few hours before a lunch stop on the way to Galway. I provided the lunchtime entertainment for the Aussie I was sitting with as I had a struggle with my taco kebab (a wrap with taco meat and ridiculously runny sauce). The sauce was running all over the place and I couldn't help laughing about my struggles. The Aussie informed me that he was laughing with me and not at me. I ended up throwing out at least half of it as I didn't have enough time to finish and the others I was with had finished. We then continued on for a few hours to Galway. There was a two hour stop before returning to the coach to check into our hotel just outside of Galway. After we returned to the city for a pub dinner (it was a walk about dinner but the tour guide had picked a pub for us to eat at as a group if you wished to join). There was some live music at the pub. Tomorrow there is an optional activity to take a ferry Aran Island. The island is a forty minute ferry ride. I am looking forward to exploring the island before returning back for a second night in Galway. There is a laundry service at this hotel-12 Euro-pricy but worth not having to track down a laundry mat to do it in.

The hotels have been quite nice for the most part (some better than others). The breakfasts have been good with the exception of chaoticness at the breakfast today and one back in Scotland.

Shout outs:
Mum: I sent you an email with my flight arrival time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb