Day 6 - The Castle in Connemara


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
July 21st 2012
Published: July 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was another beautiful day in Galway. We awoke to a beautiful sunny day and the sound of the city streets mixed with the murmur of the beach. Ireland is bliss.



Being in a foreign country is odd. The good kind of odd though, where everything around you seems strange but you can’t help but want to be immersed in it. Being around a culture that’s different than my own is exciting. My favorite thing about the trip is the people, which is funny because I’m not exactly the friendliest person on a day-to-day basis.



Our day trip today was called Connemara. Yes, I took my motion sickness medicine and got plenty of sleep last night, thank goodness, so there was not another incident. Connemara is a city outside of the actually city of Galway. It encompasses a variety of little towns, all separated by a vast expansion of mountains, farmland, and sheep. There were lots and lots of sheep.



The main stop on our tour was the Kylemore Abbey. A man built the castle that the abbey is now residing in in the late 1800s for his wife for their honeymoon. What a lucky lady. After her death, which sadly was only 4 years later, her husband built a church, next to the castle, in memory of her. Both are not only incredible in terms of size, but also with detail. Each bit of texture just as beautiful as the next. We were unable to tour the whole castle but the gist was definitely understood. Pictures to come!



The rest of the tour consisted of stopping along side different fields and streams just to be able to get the perfect picture. It was a very peaceful afternoon. The best part was the sheep. I love sheep. And there is a definite abundance of them here! At one point along our tour we had to completely stop the bus because a pack of sheep were just standing in the middle of the road. When in Ireland!



The show we saw last night was titled “The Strange Undoing of Prudencia Hart”. Going in to the performance, I had no idea what to expect, which was exciting. The theatre was set up in a dinner theatre fashion with scattered tables and a mock stage at the front. The show was like nothing I’d ever seen before. The performers had an exaggerated sense of theatricality and never broke character, even when they singled out my friend Spencer to be the victim of a 4-way lap dance. I have to say that between the raunchy humor and the appropriate use of the space, this show has been my favorite, hands down. I laughed until I cried, the sign of good comedy.



We went out as a group last night for a bit which was nice. Going out in Ireland is a a lot like going out in Auburn but with 10 times more bars and people. Its very exciting, but there’s still a general feeling of a present comfort level, at least for me. My friend Diana was not so lucky. She had her phone stolen by a homeless man with a puppy. Darn puppy. We ended up in the police station at 4 am filing a report. Let’s just say I hope it’s the first and last time I watch the sunrise in Galway.



Still having a fun, safe time!

Advertisement



22nd July 2012

We are throughly enjoying your blog, glad the trip has been good so far (except for the the motion sickness). Stay safe - we love you!!!
23rd July 2012

Did you see...
...any Connemara ponies??? I fell in love with them when I was in Galway. They were like really big shaggy dogs...or really small shaggy ponies. lol. But Connemara is SO wonderful (notice my email addy? heheheheh). That's where I got MY claddagh ring. It seems like you're making the most of it! Glad you're not neglecting sleep tho. I can't WAIT to see all the pics! Big hugs, Daley! Have a Guinness for me! Sláinte!

Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb