Galway again and pub crawl....or not.


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
May 28th 2012
Published: May 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Your intrepid travelerYour intrepid travelerYour intrepid traveler

Waiting to catch the #20 bus from Ballinasloe to Galway. It is always 20 minutes or more late.
Monday May 28, 2012

Today I caught the #20 bus to Galway and checked into the Kinlay Hostel. It’s a lively place now at 7:pm. I took some pictures earlier when I checked in. About 30 French school kids have checked in and are playing music so it’s a lot livelier now. One of them is playing the piano and he is exceptionally good. I seem to be the only “mature” gentleman here.

I walked around the town a bit earlier and after several inquiries found a place that had Dillisk, which is a type of seaweed that my mother likes as a snack. She grew up in this part of Ireland and likes to eat Dillisk. She said it is very healthy and I have no doubt of it.

I also bought some cheese and bread for snacking during the day as I travel through South West Ireland. Tomorrow I will mail off the Dillisk to Mom and go check out the Aquarium at Salthill.

A girl just handed me an invitation to a Galway Pub Crawl. Its pretty cheap at E 12 per person and you are supposed to get a free drink in every pub. I don’t see how they can give free drinks for only 12 Euros….unless they are small. And I really don’t drink anymore so I probably couldn’t keep up……but I guess I could invest 12 Euros and then if I don’t go for it I could just wander away in one of the pubs. We are supposed to meet at The Skeff Bar in Eyre Square at 8PM. I guess I could go take a look.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb