Inredible & Inspiring Inis Mor


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Aran Islands
April 19th 2012
Published: May 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ireland day 4

I almost didn't make it to Enis More, I had been still battling the flu I got before leaving Townsville and my back had been aching due to way too many hours of sitting on a bus. I am so glad I went, it was the most incredible day of the whole tour. We woke early and took a bus for 45mins out of town to the ferry which was another 40mins across to the island. I fell asleep on the boat and only woke when it started to get seriously rocky, which was very unhealthy for those of us who were hungover. The lack of fresh air is also bad, but it was crazy cold outside, so we weren't going out. Shannon and I played where's the hidden wrench with the evacuation map which we also discovered the boat was built in her home town of Freemantle in Western Australia.

A big group of us decided to hire bikes and bike round the Island as we had the whole day to explore. After a quick shower, which I managed to get caught in, we bought a picnic lunch from the tiny supermarket and headed back into the glorious sunshiny day Ireland had gifted us with. By the first stop in the seal breading bay I felt 10 times better than the previous day and Shannon and I agreed we had previously had a serious case of cabin fever from too long on the bus, this was then followed by joyus chorus of "I love to ride my bicycle, my biiiiicycle, my bicycle...." while various members of our group giggled at my appaling bicycle skills...I enjoy it so much, but I seriously don't believe the saying "it's like learning to ride a bike, you never forget" I certainly need some brushing up on my cycling skills!

I made it up to the ruins of the worlds tinest church, but just as we got to our lunch destination which Carol called "the money shot", my chain came off and I had to walk the remainder of the way. Luckily Sarah and Jenna were both bike riders and had me fixed in no time. We left our bikes in the carpark and headed for a long walk up the highest part of the island to Du-n aen gusa, I got a phone call from Townsille so the trip walking up just flew by while I chattered away about my recent adventures. We arrived and walked out to the edge of the cliff. We were all walking fast to see the view, but as we got closer we got slower and more careful before we all lay down and crawled to the edge. The sheer drop to the bottom with no barrier's or cages was the most amazing and mesmirizing natural sight I had ever seen. I am scared of heights, but this, was magic. I could have layed their for hours drinking in the beauty of the green and blue waves of the sea crashing on the edge of the cliffs below. I didn't take photos over the edge as I was worried I would drop my camera. The sky was so clear and you couldn't see any land for miles so we felt like we were at the edge of the world looking out into the abyss. We ate the remainder of our lunch and headed back down to the road, the journey down seemed much longer than going up, distractions like calls from home are wonderful things.

Shannon, Candra and I all stopped at the lighthouse on the way back, which was luckily worth the massive trek up the steep hill. We joined the others for a hot chocolate before getting a group photo before taking our bikes back, another group photo this time with all the shamrocker crew and we headed back on the ferry and the bus back to Galway before going for a wal, around town, checking out the Spanish arch, Cathedral and getting some groceries for our group dinner as Nathan was leaving on the 5 day group. Our mini group had an awesome night and delicious group dinner before saying goodbye to our 5 day friends as we were off to Northern Ireland in the morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb