Dublin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
September 1st 2006
Published: October 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This is going to be short because I'm still reeling in shock by how expensive Dublin is, which is saying something, given I've just come from pounds in Scotland to euros in Ireland. On my first day in the city I went out to a supermarket to buy a cheap sandwich for lunch only to find it was going to cost me the unholy sum of 6 euros. To put this in perspective, that's like pay $A10 for a chicken salad sandwich. The same sandwich that would have cost the equivalent of $A4 in Scotland! Okay, I realise I'm going on a bit much about sandwiches here, but come on now, seriously!

But moving on, I'm not really sure about Dublin. Other than the muddy Liffy River and whole streets lined with pubs named O'something, Dublin could be any metropolitian city in any part of the world. Good for Dubliners I'm sure, but not particularly exciting for tourists unless you've got a sack full of cash and plan to drink yourself silly. Given that I have neither, there's not much else to do but hop on a bus for Kilkenny and give that a whirl instead. Yeah, it's a tough
Temple BarTemple BarTemple Bar

the street with the most concentrated number of pubs in Dublin
life, this.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Oscar Wilde statueOscar Wilde statue
Oscar Wilde statue

I walked for ages to find this. I have no idea why.


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb