The Meek TravelLodge and still no ice


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
June 25th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

DublinDublinDublin

The river through downtown Dublin
I was flying back to the states for a week and my flight left Dublin Thursday morning. I decided it would better to spend the night in Dublin Wednesday night so I wouldn't have to wake up at 3:30 am to make my flight. So, Wednesday after work I drove 3 hours north to Dublin. My trusty GPS device steered me around 400 round-abouts right to the trusty, barren TravelLodge.

The GPS device had a nice soothing British woman’s voice. Every time I made a wrong turn she would say “calculating route”. If you made the correct turn, she wouldn’t say anything. I related it to a spelling bee - you don’t hear the bell you are in good shape. Well on the way to Dublin, she was constantly saying “calculating route”. At one time I figured she was going to make me pull over and give me a lecture on proper round-about usage.

The TravelLodge, which was close to the airport and under $100 Euros, was very interesting. I relate it to cabin I stayed at when I was a camp counselor in Texas for a summer camp. No soap, shampoo, TV, alarm clock, or sheet on the
Dubin - city centerDubin - city centerDubin - city center

Looking accross the bridge

Dubin - city center
Looking accross the bridgebed. I was only in the room for a few hours, but it would still have been nice to have some of the basics.

Since there was nothing to do in the room, I decided to go see Dublin. I took the city bus 45 minutes south into the middle of town. I loved Dublin! It ranks up there with some of my favorite European cities (Munich & Paris). I toured around the Temple Bar area, got a shot glass from HardRock, and had a few pints of beer from different pubs. Around 11:00 pm I decided it was time to get back to my luxurious hotel room so I took the bus back to the camp.

I slept in my clothes using other clothes as a sheet and blanket. Got up, got packed and headed home.

This week I'm in the states and fly back on Saturday. I will continue my travel blog when I get back to Ireland next week.

Jason



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Dublin - city center #2Dublin - city center #2
Dublin - city center #2

Looking accross the bridge
Methodist ChurchMethodist Church
Methodist Church

I found a Methodist Church next to the bus stop in Dublin
The trusty TravelLodgeThe trusty TravelLodge
The trusty TravelLodge

The bathroom of my meek TravelLodge. I felt like it was the beginning of some horror movie.


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb