Back in Dublin!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
June 7th 2015
Published: June 7th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The weekend has been a great start to my stay here in Dublin! Saturday morning Nanna and I headed over to University College Dublin where I checked in to my apartment. I was hesitant to what it would look like as UT Dallas (UTD) spoiled us with the brand new dorms and the huge apartments on campus. Walking in I yelled "Hello!" in case anyone was already there. I shouldn't have been nervous because our flat is extremely nice with a four bedroom, two bathroom layout. There is also a large living area that opens up to a kitchen. Just after I placed my luggage into my room, Caitlyn popped out of her room! She, along with 28 other UTD students, were arriving all day Saturday. We were both so happy to be rooming with familiar faces. She went back to sleeping off the jetlag while I unpacked a bit. Nanna, sitting on my bed, asked, "Savannah, can you give me a Facebook tutorial?" We spent the next hour picking out the best profile picture and cover photo, and going through the how-to of Facebook. This right here, ladies and gentlemen, is a true bonding of the generations!

Later, I went to a UCD orientation with 29 other UTD students, students from New Jersey, Connecticut, and Massachusetts. We quickly bonded and talked about what our internships are. Everyone comes from such different backgrounds and such a wide variety of interests. The internship placements range anywhere from engineers to researchers to doctors. It'll be neat to hear about everyone's experiences.

Sunday morning I had breakfast with Nanna before saying goodbye to her as she left for a hotel closer to the airport as because she returns to the States Monday morning. Then, I went back to my flat where I woke up my jet lagged roommates so we could get groceries for the week. We ventured downtown via the Dublin bus and walked around Parnell Square, one of the local shopping areas. Cheyenne, Emily, and I found a HUGE bookstore called Chapters. It had every book known to man (or at least it appeared that way)! Before meeting up with Caitlyn, who was at Mass, we also found a really unique used bike shop. I'm really fascinated by graffiti and this place was heavily decorated. The man who owned it sat in a beat up old car and only spoke a couple words to us. As odd as the situation was, I liked it. We left that area rather quickly and wandered into the Irish Remembrance Garden. It had a gorgeous cross shaped pond, surrounded by perfectly cut grass, and the brightly colored spring flowers. At the front of the park stood a large statue with the Irish flag waving proudly behind it. We stood in awe of the simplicity that such a lovely garden can bring to the business of downtown.

Soon after the garden, all four of us roomies met up, bought groceries, and lugged all the stuffed full grocery bags onto the bus and back to the apartment. Caitlyn made a yummy pasta and vegetable dinner for us! For those that don't know, back a UTD I'm a Peer Advisor. In this job I live alone and help facilitate an apartment building of 68 college students. I am so happy to have roommates and especially ones that are so kind and friendly! Don't get me wrong, living alone has its perks, but it was so nice sitting at the kitchen table, catching up and laughing with these three girls.

The weekend was the perfect segway for tomorrow. Tomorrow, I begin my internship and it could not come any sooner! I know it'll be tiring and a lot of work, but at the same time, there are no doubts in my mind that I will love every second of it. Are you wondering what my internship is? Well, I'll just keep you in suspense until the next blog post. As the Irish say it, Oíche mhaith!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb