The big wide world of Dublin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
September 23rd 2014
Published: September 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hello all!

I slept very well last night in my suite on the third story of downtown Dublin. I opened my windows and music and laughter filled the night, lulling me into a dreamless sleep. I awoke refreshed and ready to hit the streets of Dublin. Stowing my map of Dublin in the inner pocket of my coat I ventured to Trinity College and viewed the Book of Kells exhibit. It really was extremely well done and very interesting. They had films on how the monks prepared vellum (calf skin) to write on. They estimate it took 185 calves to produce the book of Kells. The 'inks' they used were from diffferent plants, and the writing instruments were quills, sharpened at regular intervals. I cannot imagine the time and patience, not to mention the creativity it took to complete the work. It really is mind boggling. After the exhibition you were directed to the Long Library upstairs, of which my picture today shows. All the old works of Ireland are there. It really is impressive. I closed my eyes and breathed in, smelling the familiar and lovely smell of musty old books. Lovely.

After Trinity College I again took to the pavement and went to Christchurch Cathedral. A huge grey building with wonderful architecture and stained glass, I was thankful it survived the many battles and kingships to become one of the largest churches in Europe. Again, it was definately worth the visit.

So tomorrow heralds the last day of Lori's adventures in the UK. I can say that I have enjoyed myself emmensly and have learned a great deal of history and geography of the areas I visited. It must be wonderful to have such a vast history to draw upon in viewing the world as it is today.

For dinner, I treated myself to an above average sit down restaurant and gorged on baked, stuffed portobello mushroom, a vegtable Wellington, and a nice glass of wine. I am really getting to be an old hand at being a single woman in a restaurant. Bring a book, and make sure you engage your server in conversation. I have been treated exceptionally well by using these two tools. And....eat early. Its safer, and quieter.

In closing today, I would like to make an observation about the general public of England and Ireland. By far, obesity as we know it in the US is few and far between in the UK. Partly I believe because the portions served at restaurants are much smaller than in the US. There is also a definate lack of 'fast food', although I have seen a McDonalds and a Burger King in Dublin; but pretty much you get good whole food in the restaurants. People also walk and ride bikes more as a means of efficient travel. Car travel is irritating at best on the narrow, crowded roads. But, lastly, I can not believe how prevailent smoking (tobacco) is here. In America it has almost become a social stigma to smoke, whereas here it is very common. I don't understand it. Tomorrow perhaps I'll ask some innocent person why this is so. Poor soul.

I think I'll venture into the jucuzzi tub tonight and bless the fact that I have (almost) completed my trip with a large percentage of success--a few decents, but all in all my perception of the world has grown larger, as it should with travel, and so I close. Good night good readers and bless the abundance that is present in our everyday lives.

Advertisement



23rd September 2014

Beautiful Entry Lori!
Flying your way now...see you very soon. ?
23rd September 2014

Beautiful Entry Lori!
Flying your way now...see you very soon. ?
24th September 2014

Book of Kells and the Irish Celtic Monks
Hi Lori, Wow, sounds like you have had a wonderful trip. We saw the Book of Kells many years ago. Then about 6 years ago we saw one of the remote sites where supposedly monks worked on parts of the Book, on Skellig Michael (off Dingle, SW Ireland coast). Like you, we enjoyed the more remote parts of Ireland. The west coast, Arran Islands, many other beautiful places. Hope you have a good trip home. Dave

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb