Ireland trip - Day 4 - Dublin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
May 13th 2012
Published: May 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sunday May 13 – Dublin - Today I just kind of roamed around pretty much and went to the National Museum of Ireland. It was too windy and cold to be too comfortable in it so I went to the museum. I also went by the Basarus bus station to check on taking the bus to Ballinasloe on Tuesday. So that is the plan at the moment. I bought a phone and will set it up tomorrow and call my cousin Christie. I have had a good time here and look forward to seeing the rest of Ireland at my leisure. I will probably spend my last week here in Dublin as well before returning to the States for a bit.

I explored Dublin a bit today and found out where the regular people shop. Henry Street off of O’Connell Street at the Spire has store after store. It is another pedestrianized street and it changes to Mary Street after you go west on it a bit and has a large enclosed shopping mall. There is also a Tesco in the shopping mall which I found immediately after I bought a phone from another provider. I will set up the phone in the morning and see if I can call Christie on it. Also I should be able to call home on it as well. It is 20 cents a minute in Ireland and 15 cents a minute to the US. The Tesco would have been a better deal as it is only 1 cent a minute to the US ( at least that is what they told me verbally, I noticed it didn’t show that on their sales sheet), and 20 cents in Ireland, but I did not find a Tesco till after I gave up on it and bought one from Meteor cell phones.

I must say it has been an interesting experience staying in a hostel. They play loud music here constantly in the “common” area but it hasn’t really bothered me as much as I thought it would. Hard to believe I only have 2 more days here. Also hard to believe I’ve only been here 3 days as I have had so many new experiences. Guess I will finish this up and turn in early tonight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Henry Street off of O'Connell Street at The SpireHenry Street off of O'Connell Street at The Spire
Henry Street off of O'Connell Street at The Spire

Henry Street off of O'Connell Street is where the "regular" people shop. It had a pedestrianized street and when it changes to Mary Street has a large enclosed shopping mall with a Tesco.


13th May 2012

Have a good time.
Looks like the trip is very enjoyable. The cool weather probably feels good compared to what Texas is like this time of year. Jim, Becky & Jackie Rosas
18th May 2012

weather
Yes the weather is cool and comfortable with a coat. It rains off and on but is fine between the rains.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb