Day 4, Dublin, Ireland


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
November 30th 2009
Published: November 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Monday, November 30th, 2009
Dublin, Ireland.

I woke up around 2am and decided to do some picture editing/journal work. I thought it might be nice to have some noise other than my iPod so I tried the TV again. While the picture still wouldn't work, the audio this time was "My Name is Earl". So I listened to the one where Joy might go to prison. While more amusing than the Irish Talent Show to listen to, it's still not the same. I want to see Joy go "Oh snap!" Went back to bed around 4am.

So, I slept until about 11am and then forced myself over to the window. I didn't wake with much enthusiasm today. I pictured another day of bitter cold (it was about 35 yesterday) and rain. Imagine my happiness when I opened the curtains and saw sunlight! Not a cloud in the sky! Then I started kicking myself for sleeping so long and missing so much sunlight! Oh well.

First up was to find a store that sold battery chargers. Also, as Californian as it sounds, I need to buy some energy/clif bars. I'm running low on fumes and this "eating only in the evening" thing is not gonna work. So the desk clerk points out a location on the map and I head off and find all that I need. Unfortunately, since I now have a UK battery charger, I need to buy a converter that will make it work in other countries. I find one that'll work in the UK/US/Europe/Australia so I figure I'll just have to use regular batteries in Egypt and Asia. So goes life.

My first touristy thing was to hop back on the bus and go to St. Patrick's Cathedral. It was gorgeous, and very peaceful and I instantly relaxed. Made me wonder if maybe I should go to church, but I still have a hard time buying the story. I noticed on the ride over that we passed Christ Church Cathedral so I decide to chance it and walk back to it. It's open! Again, gorgeous building. Plus, they have the "crypt" open to the public and you can wander down there and look at relics. It is unusual, however, that that is where their bathrooms are located. Nothing like walking thru dungeon/catacomb looking areas trying to find a toilet. Then, doing the quick look afterwards to make sure you're not dragging toilet paper from your shoe thru this consecrated place.

I feel bad saying/typing this, but I am about Dublin touristed out. There's much more to see and do, but I'm thankful that my last day will be with a tour group for the Wicklow day tour. Someone else gets to make the choice of where I'm going and how to get there, it'll be nice. For today though, I take a walk down by the River Liffey that separates Dublin in two (and that my hotel is one street over from on the South side). I decide a nap would be perfect and crash for about an hour before getting up and trying the "single diner" thing again. I settle on Gallagher's Boxty House which is just down the road. They have music each evening so there was a lone singer/guitar player in the corner. He was really good, and I tried to smile at him after each song because everyone else (there were only about 6 other people there) just kept eating/talking and didn't acknowledge him. I'm sure that's how it's done here, but I felt bad that he didn't get applause after each song. I ordered their soup of the day (tomato- a soup I normally hate) and their Chicken and Leek Boxty. Both were excellent, further proving to myself that I need to give something other than sandwiches a try (oooo, a sandwich does sound good right now though!!!) And guess what? It was still awkward as hell being a lone diner. Especially in a small restaurant, with only 6 other people and a musician who keeps awkwardly smiling back at you. The poor man was probably happy that I left so he could sing in peace.

So, I took a quick walk around the block but once again decided not to venture into a pub to enjoy some night life. I hate bars/pubs in the states, so I really don't have the urge to try them out here. I can't even nurse a drink to fake it, I just want a coke and that seems to baffle people's minds. Oh well. So, i came back to the hotel and decided to finally write my blog- yea! And now you all can rejoice- yea! Rejoice, dammit!

😉 Night!



Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

St. Patrick'sSt. Patrick's
St. Patrick's

So, as ya know, I don't go to church. So I don't know if it's normal for them to offer little pillows for you to kneel on but I thought they were neat.


30th November 2009

YEAH
AND YOU'RE OFF!
1st December 2009

I'm enjoying your trip!
Hi Amanda! I am enjoying your trip so much- and its only just begun! It is such a wonderful distraction for me right now. Thank you for your e-mail prior to your departure. With so much on your mind, I can't imagine how you found time to ask about what was on my "mind." I'm doing find so far, just waiting for doctors appointments and surgery plans. I am enjoying traveling around the world with you. It is so much more fun than worrying about my stuff. Plese have a wonderful time- be safe and have fun. Take lots of wonderful pictures (as I am sure you will). Jen
1st December 2009

You hit on the guitar player?
That's not the public toilet. It's part of the original architecture, and only for display to tourists. The janitor is going to be very mad at you. Also: Yea!!
1st December 2009

Doh! I thought it was the toilet! And no, Mr. Guitar Player didn't do it for me. I requested "Bat Out of Hell" and he had no clue! Not a love connection.
2nd December 2009

rejoicing :) i love you and totally wish i could be there travelling with you! although, you'd have to put up with going to one of those gorgeous cathedrals for an actual service with me ;)

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb