Dublin part three


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
May 30th 2009
Published: June 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I was supposed to leave the house around 10! But it never happened I wanted to check out Kilmainham Goal which was a very famous jail in Irish history. Here people of the Irish Revolution were executed which caused Ireland to unite against the British and become their own country. So I took off on the Laus line again to a place called Suirl. Went up the road to find the jail about 10 mins up the hill.
Went in and paid my 2 Euro student admission and waited for the tour to start in the museum they had. Really cool old jail. Closed up in 1923. They had to do extensive work to refurbish it all to become what it once was. The first part of the tour we came into a chapel. Watched a movie about the jail or goal as the Irish say. Turns out before one of the prisoners was executed he was granted permission to wed a lady who was actually also in the jail at one time. Crazy drama. They took us through all the cells where the famous rebels were held. Very cool to see at the huge iron door. There was three levels of cells on top of each other. This was the old part of the jail. Then we went into the much more nicer and ornate part of the jail which looked like a huge concert hall. This was where the woman was kept in her time in the jail. They had a downstairs for solitary confinement but we never got to see this. GOt to go in the cells and check em out. U2 played in this hall and even recorded some songs here as well. I think he said there has been everything from operas to plays to concerts in this very room. The acoustics were so good that they could hear a prisoner whisper and could immedialtly punish him or her. Children and women were often in here in times of famin especially the great Potato Famine.
We went out to the stoneyard where prisoners were forced to break stones for 10 hours a day hard labour to pave the roads of Dublin. This is where the executions also took place. Really erry, they had a huge Irish flage beside a plaque with all the mens names. It was also said that executions were so popular at the jail that they would get the prisoner to write some things about his opinions or whatever and they would sell this off before he was killed. As many as 5000 ppl would turn up from all quarters of Ireland to witness as many as 4 people being hung at once. Yikes I guess we know where we get all the UFC type violence we all crave so much.
After that I went back to catch some Rugby and Football at the pub with Marcus. Uk and Ireland had a team touring around South Africa and were playing them as Chelsea and Everton were playing at the same time. At half time I went down for my nourishment of Chicken Sub and fries. Came back for the second half where the Brits and Irish somehow put together a comeback win and Chelsea got a late goal from Frank Lampard to win the FA Cup.
We were both rooting for Everton because they had way less star players on their side but the better team won I guess you could say. After that we went upstairs and chilled out. Luigi was really surprised to see me when he got back from work because my plan was to go to Galway today. Never happened because they had a big sailing competition there and it was bank holiday weekend so there was no room whatsoever at the hostels.
Met Marcus at the place cause he was done work. Told him about the ipod and he said just get him to do it. But I dont think he knows how cheap I am. He made himself some pizza and I just played on the computer a bit till Luigi came home with Marta. Played some guitar and showed Luigi how to play Wonderwall because he had been trying for the last 3 months! He got it too I was proud of him. Taught him a couple more Bob Marley songs that were easy as well.
My plan was to stay there and leave tommorw for Killarney to see the ring of Kerry which was supposed to be just spectacular. Marta gave me a slice of her pizza they made and I made plans to go to this couch surfing party because no one wanted to party!!! DOWNERS oh well it worked out great cause this bar was right across the way and I thought it would be cool to meet some more couch surfers and get some good stories in at least.
It was kinda akward at first. I just kinda stood in a crowd of ppl drinking my Guiness and looking like a bit of a nim wit. This is what travelling on your own is like though. Finally I struck a convo with this bunch of ppl in front of me and cheer'sed everyone. Met more Irish couchsurfers then any really. Got onto the dance floor and they were playing some good hip hop Busta Rhymes and stuff so that was cool. Then on came the traditional music and everyone went straight into the gig's. It was hillarious I got dragged into the group going in and out and side to side. Tonsa fun. Good ol Irish ppl know how to have a good time, thats for sure. After awhile of that I had enough and made my way home. Walked around Temple bar abit to witness the constant madness that surrounds Temple Bar!! The town is seriously fuelled on booze. Everywhere you see its a staggete with a blowup doll and girls with ears on or buskers with tourists dancing in the streets like fools!! It was great. Mini skirts everywhere as well. After that I went home and fell fast asleep.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb