Dublin and the Guinness Myth


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
January 11th 2008
Published: February 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The First PintThe First PintThe First Pint

First pint of the weekend...and it went down good!
So I am a bit behind on my posts. January 11-13 we took a weekend trip to Dublin to taste test the Guinness and settle the debate once and for all: Does the Guinness really taste better in Ireland? We set out to explore this urban legend the minute we landed…and the answer is…it tastes the same. Myth Busted! Although, Evan will say that the pint from the brewery was fresher, for obvious reasons, but if the bartender pours it correctly, and the taps are clean, it tastes the same. The most surprising fact about the taste of the Guinness was that I somehow found myself really enjoying it…and craving it now that we've been back. I guess it was the magical experience of Dublin that won me over. Although we also went to Jameson, and I have thankfully not been converted to a whisky drinker…ick. We spent our weekend touring old cathedrals, wandering around, going to the Guinness Experience, and Jameson…and we really enjoyed it. Since I am so behind on posts, I am just going to upload bunch of pics...


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Learning to PourLearning to Pour
Learning to Pour

I even got a certificate!
The ResultThe Result
The Result

...a perfect pint!
The Hops...The Hops...
The Hops...

...or is this the barley...no wait, it's the hops.
Crazy Nigerian BeerCrazy Nigerian Beer
Crazy Nigerian Beer

This stuff should be illegal in most states...some special brew Gunniess makes for export to Nigeria...tons of alcohol and it tasted more like syrup.
Silly Hat PhotoSilly Hat Photo
Silly Hat Photo

Gotta have one per city
Temple BarTemple Bar
Temple Bar

...had to get a photo since we live across the street from Temple Bar in Cambridge
Jameson Tast TestJameson Tast Test
Jameson Tast Test

This was not the highlight of the trip for me...ick.


Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb