First Impressions of Dublin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
January 9th 2008
Published: January 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone! I have now been in Dublin for a full week and I am beginning to get my bearings with the city. It is a great city that has both a quaint and a bustling feeling. This past week I went through the confusing process of registering at Trinity College Dublin. It is a beautiful school but things work a little different that back home at GW, mostly because they have used the same process for several centuries. I've included some pictures from around campus. I also had a chance to visit Dublin Castle which was first built in the 12th century but was mostly rebuilt during the 18th century. It is now the place for many political ceremonies in the republic of Ireland. As with many places here, the old architecture was absolutely beautiful. I also live in an apartment within older Georgian style house. It is full of great character but complete with the quirks that come with older buildings. The biggest difference so far has been realizing that so many things over here are full of history that is older than the United States.

The biggest surprise I have encountered so far is people do speak irish (or as Americans call it Gaelic). All the signs over here are written in both irish and english and all students are required to take Irish classes in school. I am actually taking a course where we read Gaelic literature written in the 20th century that has been translated into english. I actually was looking for an office in Trinity earlier this week and someone approached me and started to speak to me in irish. I was so confused that all I could think of to say was "I am sorry, I am American." It has been a nice surprise because it sounds beautiful when spoken.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



26th January 2008

Rosemary's Journey
Hi Rosemary, I feel like I'm on tour with you! I did read both blogs....just wonderful. The photos sure document your travels in a super way for those who are following your journey through life in Ireland. I hope this message finds you! I never went to a "Blog" before. Oh my God, I feel so high-tech, I can barely stand it! Love and kisses, Aunt Claire

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb