It's MY island...


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
November 6th 2006
Published: November 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Visiting old friends in EnglandVisiting old friends in EnglandVisiting old friends in England

Seems like ol'times. Hey remember that time we all got together and had beers? Ya I remember it like yesterday.
I have landed in Dublin, Ireland. This country is probably mostly known for its rolling green countryside, amazing seacliffs, and general beauty of the land. Ya, well I didn't get to see any of that. Mostly because I just stayed in Dublin the entire time. And had a blast doing it. I did see the greenness from the plane though. Nice.

Ended up staying with Katie's step-brother, Sean and his partner Annette. Both really cool people and very lay back. There was an Italian girl staying with them too, so it was like I was staying in a very exclusive hostel. I was a bit tenative about staying with them, seeing as I really didn't know them. But it all turned out for the best. We got along fine, and you know what? Turns out Sean likes beer too. Who would have thunk it? But as much as he likes beer, he loves Whiskey even more. He took great pride in showing me his collection which was not just for looking. He let me sample them as well. A couple of times, into the wee hours of the morning, as we had long annalytical discussions about the world. How he
Kiss me Im in Ireland!Kiss me Im in Ireland!Kiss me Im in Ireland!

Well it just couldn't get any worse could it?
put up with me, I will never know. Nice man.

They both took the time to show me around Dublin and hung out with me. Very curteous of them. The weather was not as bad as I had imagined and allowed for outings just about every night.

Also got to meet their friends, niether of whom are Irish. But that was ok, because there's one thing about Ireland that you might not be aware of... there are lots of Irish. And boy do they talk fast. Whew! I thought Spanish people that you piss off at a train station talked rapidly. Well they have got nothing on the Irish. Everybuddy think green for a second. "Aye, shur itbe trrue. Bit all ye havtoodoo is tik a quik lissen, and dyel befine... " And hearts, moons, clovers to you too.

Gotta share this one with you. I had a map of Dublin in me pocket for help gett'n around. Well, on that map, there is a place called Temple Bar. I had read about it and lots of Irelands' more famous peoples, like James Joyce, would hang out there. Also people had told me to definately visit there.
Why?Why?Why?

Because you die if you don't. That's why. Bloody left side of the road drivers.
So it really sounded like the place to be in Dublin. Plus, IT'S A BAR. Right, well I walked all over the city. Never saw it. Went along the river, which is where it is, and never saw it. Asked someone and got directions, and never saw it. On my map just looking at the area that this bar takes up, its about a 3block area. How could I have missed it? I mean I know I can be dense sometimes, but come on.

So I was out and about when Sean and Annette texted me and told me to meet them at the Palace Bar. They gave me the address and told me it was at one end of,... you guessed it... Temple Bar. Great! Well I just happened to find the street and walked along it looking for either one of these places, when I found the Palace Bar I was quite happy with myself and felt reassured that my powers of direction were not thrown off by being on this cold island. So later I mentioned my ordeal to Sean and he quickly informed me that although there is an actual Temple Bar, the area denoted
Friends in IrelandFriends in IrelandFriends in Ireland

none are actually irish.
on my map was just that; an area. Not a 3block sized bar. Ohhhhh. So that big yellow trapazoid on my map is just a collection of bars, resturants and places to hang out called The Temple Bar? Gottit. Then we all had a good laugh at my expense. Nothing Im not used to. So if any of you are thinking of going to Dublin, let it be known, that those Irish are tricky with their maps and quick speak. But serious about their Guinness.

By the way, a proper Guinness takes around 4 minutes to pour. You might be asking yourself, "How can this be?" I counted. BRILLIANT!

Till next time all you crazy kids. Hey does anyone know why 'Czech' is spelled with a Z in there? Probably the same reason 'know' is spelled with a K; I guess.

Euroguz out!
comment away all you blog bashers.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

There, but for the grace of god, go I.  There, but for the grace of god, go I.
There, but for the grace of god, go I.

This is the wrong way to hail a cab in Ireland. 'A' for effort though.
Guinness GateGuinness Gate
Guinness Gate

It's official. I've been to Santa's workshop. Where dreams come true.
My first Guinness in DublinMy first Guinness in Dublin
My first Guinness in Dublin

Funny, it looks a lot like the last one I had too.
Jameson Whiskey DistilleryJameson Whiskey Distillery
Jameson Whiskey Distillery

Yup, I checked out some Irish Whiskey too. When in Dublin...
Dublin SpireDublin Spire
Dublin Spire

Not sure what it represents, but it sure is impressive.
Lil ConradLil Conrad
Lil Conrad

You've got to start them early.
What's up doc?What's up doc?
What's up doc?

This is my artsy shot.


11th November 2006

I Hate You...not...I mean...
You ARE the man!!!!....thanks for ruining it for me...I wanted to goto Ireland....My son Michael's Aunt Heidi lives in a castle there somewhere....by the water no less....mus bee cold ....later ..." lil sound"
15th November 2006

stache
Cool Stache dude. I mean really cool stache man, very impressive. Call me when you get back to play some golf
16th November 2006

Yeah right, coooooool stache. If people think that thing is cool you should show them a pic of the MOLE! AND Lilsounds right, my sisters friends auntes neighbor has a cousin that lives in a big pot of gold at the end of a rainbow that one of those freeky little green migets watch over. Now whats the point of going to see him now? You have made me feel like i have lived there for years. How do you know when your gay? When you end a blog with your name and then out

Tot: 0.318s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0799s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb