The Sun Returns


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Donegal
April 25th 2015
Published: April 26th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Lough Gill in the MorningLough Gill in the MorningLough Gill in the Morning

Another in my boat series...
Saturday 25thApril. Today I was planning to do less driving, so I set out to visit Marble Arch Caves, just across the county border in northern Ireland. But the people at my B&B told me that I must see this valley and that valley and such and such peninsula, so I ended up taking a slightly circuitous route to the caves. This did prove a good idea, because Glen Ade was spectacular. The valleys around here are of glacial origin, hence their shape. I also visited a ruined Franciscan Friary near Lough Gill. The history of the friars was interesting to read, with their dispersal and persecution at various times.

It was weird crossing into northern Ireland. Suddenly all the road route numbers change, distances and speed limits are in the archaic miles, you need a different currency, road signs are all different, etc. Imagine having to change currencies and systems when travelling from Gosford to Wyong.

The caves were partly flooded due to heavy rain overnight in that particular area. They had a much-abbreviated tour running, entering and exiting by the normal exit steps. Looking at the usual entrance, which was flooded by a torrent of running water, I guess we were lucky to get a tour at all. The cave is interesting because the underground river flows right through the main cave. The racing water was so loud that one could hardly hear the guide. The cave decoration is very minimal and modest compared to Jenolan or Wombeyan Caves, but the short tour was still interesting.

I then headed up to Donegal town, seeing a little coastal scenery along the way. The day was sunny for the rest of the day after a little morning cloud, so was very pleasant, though getting cold due to a bit of a northeasterly breeze. Donegal town was fairly average – there was another ruined Franciscan Friary to see. I am staying at Glenties, in the Irish highlands, coldish but nice views of the hills. I went to Mass in town and it was the fastest Sunday Mass I think I’ve ever been to, 35 minutes. All the prayers were said so quickly I could hardly keep up!

Tomorrow I am headed for Derry in northern Ireland for a couple of nights, and will get to meet some relatives on Monday. I will refrain from getting too political, but it is ridiculous that all of Ireland is not in the Republic, and although I like the British, they have no business being here, maintaining their occupation of the six counties.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb