Ballyliffin and the Clonmany Music festival.


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Donegal » Clonmany
August 8th 2017
Published: August 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

IMG_4858IMG_4858IMG_4858

The View from my room at the Ballyliffin lodge and Spa
Sorry for the delay in getting this out. I had typed it while on the ferry from Belfast to Scotland this morning and lost my wifi connection when I was saving it! Yea I know it sounds like "the dog ate my homework" but man I was not a happy camper!

Before I start a quick shout out to my daughter Jennifer - she did a Sturgis SD trip with her motorcycle girls they trailered the bikes then did a number cool rides while at the largest Harley rally in the world. She must get that wonder bug from her Mom?.

Once again I had good enough weather to wear the non rain gear. About 1/2 the ride was on the "Wild Atlantic Way". The Irish took a page from the US "Route 66" concept only the WAW is a lot shorter but much more spectacular route. The WAW runs about a 100 miles mostly along the ocean. If you decide to do the northern half of Ireland add it to the must due column. I arrived at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa around 2:45. I called to see if I could get a massage but they only had a
IMG_4862IMG_4862IMG_4862

McFeeley's Pub the best pour in Ireland this trip. Amongst some very stiff competition.
30 minute slot available so I politely declined. A 30 minute message is like kissing your sister -you go through the motions but it's no big deal 😊

The Ballyliffin gave me a very nice suite (see the room view pic ). The warned me in advance when I made the reservation that they had a wedding going on and that it can get noisy. I heard the group once. I can give the Ballyliffin High marks - I've heard there are other less expensive places in town but it was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent and have a nice workout room and pool/sauna/steam room.

I stopped down the street at Nancy's Barn Restaurant from the hotel - I had their award winning Seafood Chowder with a cranberry -ham-Brie toasted sandwich. The Chowder lived up to its billing and I ordered a second on the sandwich! Way to go Nancy.



After a short use of the pool and steam room I asked the pool attendant what the goings on were - she directed me to the Clonmany Music Festival in town. I took a cab down there and they had a main stage
IMG_4864IMG_4864IMG_4864

The McFeeley glass - look at the cream on the sides and there was a lot still on the bottom. Awesome.
along with a midway for rides and games. The music would be classified as Country Western/ Irish. It was really good. The Clonmany festival goes on for 8 days and I was there on opening day. The town only had a few thousand people but the festival brings in 20,000 or more.


There are a number of bars in the square so I had to check them all out-of course- I've been pretty quiet on the subject of Guinness ratings primarily because it is like splitting hairs to generally discern one pour from another over here. However, the two pints I had at McFeeleys in Ballyliffen stood apart from the rest, if you look at the glass (see pic) the residual on the glass says it all. Ballyliffin like all of the towns on the "I" peninsula are spectacular. I ran into a golf pro from Belfast in McFeeley's (see pic). The Irish Open will be held in Ballyliffin next year so when you are watching it you'll have a frame of reference- or better yet- come over and experience it for yourself.



I'll try to get the Road to Belfast done this afternoon yet
IMG_4861IMG_4861IMG_4861

The main stage at the Clonmany festival
so I'll be a little better up to speed on the blogs. The pictures take a little time to transfer in.



Thanks



Haste ye back !



Jim








>



But like all of Ireland it is the people that make this country my favorite place to visit. Scotland has tall shoes to fill when I get there Monday.















I looked at the 12 hour forecast and am pretty sure my ride to Belfast is going to require the full rain gear tomorrow. I lucky that I made it until my last leg in Ireland before having to don the hardcore suit. All my stops from here on are one night stays - I'm rethinking my plans so I can spend more time in some places. ie I would have liked to have at least two nights in Belfast. I'm tired when I get there and really have limited time to see things in one night.







I miss my bike
IMG_4866IMG_4866IMG_4866

The owner of McFeeley's Orla and her bartender Sheenya (sp?) - make sure to hit McFeeley's if your in Ballyliffin.
particularly when I'm on the Motorways. The bike I rented is a great bike and I believe is the same bike my friend Tim rides in the states. But it has a little bitty windshield and no cruise control. I sort of understand the logic on the cruise control (shouldn't use it in rain) and slows reaction time- this would need to be countered by the fatigue keeping your hand on the throttle for a couple hours continuously causes. But a full windshield option would make the beating your body takes on the M roads a lot less and I don't really see any downside. All this said- the bike has operated great.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

IMG_4871IMG_4871
IMG_4871

Golf pro from Belfast - had a cottage in Ballyliffin - sort of like an up north place in Wisconsin.


8th August 2017

Spraoi a bheith agat agus taitneamh a bhaint as an turas!

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb