Last day in Cork


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork
July 29th 2012
Published: August 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

July 29 Last day in Cork.

Today I walked from the Hostel to St Finbaar’s Cathedral and the Elizabeth Fort. The walked all around the Cathedral but they wanted €6 to look at the inside, and quite frankly I’ve seen tons of the inside of churches for free and wasn’t going to pay to see inside this one.

I then walked over to the Elizabeth Fort and while Lonely Planet raves about the view from the ramparts all that is closed off by the Garda so I only got a good look at the parking lot for the Garda and the inside of some of the walls.

After touring the fort I walked over to the bottom of Grand Parade where they were having what appeared to be a festival of some kind. What it turned out to be was just some venues selling the usual junk although they did have some bicycles selling for €725 if anyone is interested !!!

After looking at the venues I walked around the St Patricks street area and decided to try our a Mexican food restaurant. It was terrible and was nothing like any Mexican food I have ever seen……and I’m from Texas.

I have only had Mexican food twice in Ireland…once in Dublin and once here in Cork. Both times it was terrible.

Having enjoyed delicious Mexican Food several times in San Antonio it is quite a disappointment to find it so badly done here. I hope no one who has it here thinks that is what Mexican food taste like.

After eating I eased my way back up the hill and back to the hostel where I packed away anything that I didn’t need for the next morning in preparation for heading to Kinsale the next morning (Monday).

The plan is to call a cab to take me to the bus station and then catch the 249 bus to Kinsale. I have booked a bed at the Dempsey’s Hostel about ½ mile north of Kinsale. It will run me €15 a night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb