Welcome to Cork!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
January 5th 2011
Published: January 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

St.Peter and Paul's ChurchSt.Peter and Paul's ChurchSt.Peter and Paul's Church

I stumbled upon this church while grocery shopping. It is right in the middle of the City Centre!
I spent the day walking around the city. Cork is a wonderful place to explore on foot; you never know what you'll find! Everyone here has been so kind and helpful. I live in a great location with everything I need well within walking distance. I miss all my friends, family, and loved ones back home but I'm so glad to have the opportunity to live in such an interesting place.

School has unofficially started this week, but I still have to figure out when and where my classes are. I really appreciate the University of Montana's class scheduling system right now! The good thing is that everyone at the school is really laid back, so I'm not panicking just yet! When I finally get registered I hope to take Irish Folklore, Geography of Ireland:1660-1960, Geological Evolution of Ireland, and Beginner's Italian. I'll let you know how that all turns out!

Ideally I will post every week or so. I still need to take pictures of University College Cork's magnificent campus!

Besides exploring what Ireland has to offer, I also hope to learn about what the people of this country hold dear. I will be completing a radio
St.Peter and Paul's St.Peter and Paul's St.Peter and Paul's

This is a Catholic Church.
series while abroad. I'd like to thank my professors Denise Dowling and Ray Fanning for their support in my endeavor as well as the Davidson Honors College and the UM Office of the Provost for funding this project. I will post my stories to a different blog site once I start producing them. This site will be for me to blog about my experience living in this country on a weekly basis.


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

St.Peter and Paul's St.Peter and Paul's
St.Peter and Paul's

It's really amazing to start walking down a small street and run into this.
Inside St.Peter and Paul'sInside St.Peter and Paul's
Inside St.Peter and Paul's

It was so beautiful inside, there were a few people praying when I walked in.
St.Peter and Paul's backSt.Peter and Paul's back
St.Peter and Paul's back

This church is amazing from all sides
My Irish FriendMy Irish Friend
My Irish Friend

This cute old Irish man thought I was taking a picture of him when I was getting a shot of the church. Then I took this picture and asked for his autograph. He said I made his day!
Grand ParadeGrand Parade
Grand Parade

This is one of the main streets of the City Centre. There are so many shops and restaurants around here.
Colorful BuildingsColorful Buildings
Colorful Buildings

I love the colorful buildings! They really counteract the gray sky!
Memorial StatueMemorial Statue
Memorial Statue

This is a memorial established by the Cork Young Ireland Society.
Memorial Statue EngravingMemorial Statue Engraving
Memorial Statue Engraving

"Erected through the efforts of the Cork Young Ireland Society to perpetuate the memory of the gallant men of 1798 1803 48 and 67 who fought and died in the Wars of Ireland to recover her sovereign independence and to inspire the youth of our country to follow in their patriotic footsteps and imitate their heroic example. And righteous men will make our land a nation once again."
Trinity Church on the WaterTrinity Church on the Water
Trinity Church on the Water

This is another Catholic Church close to the City Centre.
Beautiful DayBeautiful Day
Beautiful Day

This was the first day I saw blue sky since I arrived. It was so pretty.
A River Runs Through ItA River Runs Through It
A River Runs Through It

The River Lee, to be exact...
St.Fin Barre'sSt.Fin Barre's
St.Fin Barre's

St.Fin Barre's is arguably the most well-known structure in all of Cork.
St.Fin Barre'sSt.Fin Barre's
St.Fin Barre's

This is a Church of Ireland Cathedral.
St.Fin Barre's Twin SpiresSt.Fin Barre's Twin Spires
St.Fin Barre's Twin Spires

The spires from the back.


6th January 2011

Nice pics!
Hey kid - great photos - looks just like i thought Ireland would. Thanks for the special photo for me...Matthew, Mark, Luke and John...the 4 evangelists. Nice! Love ya! Mom
7th January 2011

Lovely!
Beautiful photos, K. I saw some definite similarities to our own St. Helena's Cathedral. Can't wait to experience it for myself! Much Love, Dad
7th January 2011

Awesome photos!
Hi Kaelyn! You took some awesome photos! I didn't get to some of the places you've been so it was great to see some different scenes of Cork! I only had 2 days and did more of my exploring on the North side of the city, we stayed on MacCurtain St and I went to the Shandon area as well. I did visit the campus and walked along Washington so got to see some of the area you have photos of. I'm so excited for you to get to experience Ireland by living there! I look forward to following along on your journey:-) Our friends, Oliver and Maeve are great people. They're in their late 20's early 30's and Oliver used to play drums in a rock band so they're "cool". They truly would love to have you over for a chat and home cooking so think about taking them up on their invitation sometime. It would be o.k. to bring a friend I'm sure! Take care and have fun! Love you! Aunt Kim
8th January 2011

Sweet!
I can't believe you're in Ireland right now! It totally slipped my mind until my dad reminded me. The pictures look great and I'm SUPER jealous. I'm excited about your radio stories! Will those be available online too? I hope every thing is going wonderfully! Love, Megan
9th January 2011

NICE!
K- you're quite the talented photographer! Since this is as close as I'll probably get to Ireland I really appreciate your shots and commentary! Enjoy yourself! Can't wait to see and hear more!
15th January 2011

Hi
Hi Kaelyn- ---- glad you made it safe and looks like already you're having an awesome time! Love the pictures -- I'm so proud of you and will definitely be following your blog. Leigh will miss you this semester!! have an amazing adventure! Lynn

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb