Football at NUIG


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Carlow » Carlow
October 13th 2016
Published: October 13th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Today I went to my first soccer match since I was in high school. The way it works in Galway is that everyone practices, but only 16 girls go to the away games. I was fortunate enough to be one of the 16 girls, much to my surprise. Our game was in Carlow which is down by Kilkenny. The bus left at half ten (it was supposed to be half nine, but the bus company forgot about us). It took about three hours to get there. I figured I wouldn't play at all. In Ireland the system is like the pros where once you are subbed you are out for the game and you only get five subs a game. That's crazy to me. So, I figured I was there for injuries only. Much to my surprise, and incredible anxiety, I was subbed in about ten minutes into the second half. I was thrilled and had such a great time honestly. We ended up losing 0-3 though.
Playing soccer had such a long-standing connotation with me not being good enough or able and to come to another country and actually play the sport for the reason why I started, for the love of the game, is incredible. The girls on the team are so warm and welcoming too. It's like a soccer family, and I absolutely love that.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb