Dog Days of Summer


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland
June 2nd 2015
Published: June 2nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

I was hoping to save that title for when I run out of dog puns but I already ran out of dog puns. Doggonit! (hehehe)

ANYWAYSSSSSS

I'm here at Husafell camp site located at the bottom of the glacier where there is a shower, food, and internet. I'm currently camped up in the laundry room, which is the only place where I can get all three of those things (I brought food with me). It's been an exciting week. My dog bite wound is healing up nicely (I'll be just fine mom), and I just got my second shower since coming to Iceland. My boss Klara brought me a cake for my birthday that was like yogurt on top of breadcrumbs cake. Must be some Icelandic thing. Then I played cards with all my coworkers who have thumbs for the rest of the night. I'm starting to go on training runs with actual real life customers and I should be starting to lead tours by the end of next week if all goes well. The past 4 days have been amazing weather. It has been warm, windy, and clear. The dogs are all laying on their backs trying to cool off because sunlight makes it much too hot for them. I've been loving it though because I can go outside with only 2 layers on instead of 4. There've been some awesome sunsets but the sun doesn't actually set until 1am and then rises again at 2am. We get customers here from all over the world. A lot from the southeast asian countries, England, the States, and others that I can't remember right now. There was one day where we had two tours and both of the groups of people were from the Boston area, Randolph and Walpole. Charlotte took me on a tour with a french speaking group and they talked in french for the entire hour long tour so I didn't learn much except how to say "Lets go!", "Left", and "right" in french. We've started feeding the dogs this stuff called mingk food which is something to make them gain weight really fast. It's like all the stuff left over from the butcher ground up (In america we call it a hot dog!) and put in a big container. Then we put it in a sled and shovel it towards the dogs when it's time to eat. They go even crazier for this stuff then they do for their other food. We are currently set up in a valley of the glacier called goldeshipentklkijgkskskltki. I actually have no idea what it's called in Icelandic or how to spell it but it translates to "cold valley". That's all for now folks, enjoy your dark sky's and windless weather. Cinnamon Toast Crunch!


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb