When in Rome...


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest
May 24th 2016
Published: May 24th 2016
Edit Blog Post

The Blue Lagoon
Day 8

It's easy to understand where the name "blue lagoon" comes from - the lagoon is an unbelievably powder blue color!! We had appointments for 8:00am at the lagoon today. I was surprised at how spa-like and sophisticated this facility was. We were given plastic wristbands which were used to access and lock the lockers, and were even used to purchase drinks in the lagoon. They simply scanned our bands, which totaled our drink purchases, and then we paid for the total once we left. The inside of the locker/shower rooms were luxurious. If you're not aware of the hot pot experience in Iceland, I'll explain the proper procedure prior to entering. One must shower naked with the soap provided, paying particular attention to the head region, under arms, and privates. Then, after the shower, one can don his/her swim suit and enter the lagoon. There are jokes regarding the showering naked part, however, most provide at least some sort of privacy...but we are in Europe! Bodies of all shapes and sizes, folks.

I am glad we experienced more hot pots, than just the Blue Lagoon. As you may know, the Blue Lagoon is very touristy. Rarely any locals indulge in a spa day there because of this known fact. Also, in comparison to the Myvtan Natural Baths, the Blue Lagoon was not quite as warm, it was more windy, thus causing the water to be choppy, and was much larger of a pool. Many will attest that a trip to Iceland is not complete without a stop at the famous Blue Lagoon though - which I agree with. In fact, it's currently under construction for an expansion to be completed in 2017!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Progress Day 8. Progress Day 8.
Progress Day 8.

Blue Lagoon.
Hiding my FaceHiding my Face
Hiding my Face

Kellie and Abby couldn't stop laughing at me because my mascara was washing down my face and I looked like a villain. I was hiding my face.
Silica Mud MaskSilica Mud Mask
Silica Mud Mask

As part of our expensive fee for entrance into the lagoon, we received a complimentary mud mask. Silica in the mask and water is supposed to reguvinate the collagen in one's skin. Here's to younger looking skin!
Pure BlissPure Bliss
Pure Bliss

Here is the swim up bar! First drink of the day, 9am, sparkling strawberry wine.


Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb