Reykjavik Adventure and Meeting the Team


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Selfoss
May 19th 2015
Published: May 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Fri May 15 Day 1

Reykjavik Adventure and Meeting the Team

I’ll be honest, this whole experience has been overwhelming but once I’m outside spending time with the dogs, all doubt wash away in a sea of blissful happiness.I landed in an airport 45 minutes outside of Reykjavik and took a bus to the main station near the big city. While sitting in the bus station, prepared to wait 5 hours for my ride to come pick me up, I FaceTimed my sister, Kate and she suggested I use that time to explore downtown Reykjavik and maybe get some lunch. I was hesitant at first, or maybe I was just content to sit at the bus station with free wifi but instead, I made the journey into the damp, grey Iceland air. With a map in my pocket, I began my journey to find food. I passed a beautiful lake as I entered the city and started to meander the streets. The rain accounted for not many people walking around but the sights of Reykjavik were still there. I had got some money exchanged into Icelandic Kronur and had lunch at the first place I saw a bunch of people in and that was a pizzaria. They said that their fish and chips were to die for so to save my own life, I ordered it. It was alright but I would definitely not die for it. All the little kids here like to wear bright neon clothing. I visited the nearby port as well as the famous (has anyone actually heard of it?) Harpa concert hall. It’s this really big and neat glass building. In an effort to express myself and my new adulthood, I started singing Katy Perry’s Firework in the middle of the building. It is a concert hall after all. A man had to tell me to stop because apparently there was a super amazing important event for the Prime Minister or something. Just kidding there was no prime minister but the rest of it happened. After taking some selfies of other people taking selfies, I decided that I had experience all that Reykjavik has to offer to a solo, sober adult. I walked back to bus station with a better sense of what Iceland is all about. My boss, Siggi picked me up from the bus station and we drove around Reykjavik doing various errands for 2 and a half hours including buying booties for the dog’s scratched up feet and pizza from Domino’s (not for the dogs). We finally got to the camp which is at the base of a closed ski resort. All the dogs are chained up outside of the tiny house in lines corresponding to their respective teams. The house has 3 bedrooms and a kitchen. The toilet is a port-a-potty outside of the house. I met all 36 of the dogs outside and the one dog who’s inside because she is going to give birth any day now. Her name is Nanja. There are 3 other volunteers here. One french girl and two danish guys. They are all cool and very dedicated to dog sledding. I went to sleep around 9:45 and the sky outside hadn’t even begun to dim yet.

Advertisement



19th May 2015

Mom
Even after all this, don't let her buy booties for the dogs.
19th May 2015

Mom
Even after all this, don't let her buy booties for the dogs.

Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb