Of trolls, elves, the purest blue and cold asses


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
May 19th 2012
Published: May 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

What an amazing last couple of days, let me tell you. Yesterday we went over and went river rafting on some 2+ rapids, no worries, you have probably survived more horrifying waters in your bathtub!! But it was incredibly beautiful and buttass cold people! We had on wet suits and such, but still, it started to snow on us a bit and well it is all glacier water here so thangs tend to get a bit cold you know! We then had a bit of a tour around the Golden Circle, which is comprised of a pretty impressive waterfall, some hotsprings and geysers as well as a good look at the site of Icelandś first parliament location, which is just adjacent to active plates of the earth, plates that are busy as hell pulling the earth apart about 2cm per year.

Today we went up and hiked around the big glacier, forgive me for not remembering the Icelandic names, because well, theyŕe hard! Then we tried ice climbing, and being the suave, debonair, sophisticated woman that I am, I waited til I was just about down before I dropped my camera in a small glacial pool of water. My memory card survived, so hereś hoping my camera will as well! Did I mention I lost my wallet yesterday? Oh ya, cause I did. So apparently I´m so enamored with Iceland that I have lost all my senses.

The glaciar is very near to a dormant (or is it ) volcano, but is rife with volcanic debris. We discussed the Icelandic legends surrounding elves and trolls and saw what may be the most beautiful waterfall in the world, over at Skorsgall (sp). Apparently the volcano we were near traditionally erupts after the one that did in 2010, so Iceland is waiting. The wind was so strong today that my face is gritty from the fine lava sand and the skyline was clouded with the volcanic ash. You come here to learn about and to see, first hand the creative and destructive forces of the vocano.

I have much more to write, but have been hogging this computer since my typing on my ipad is more reminiscent of a monkeyś, so I had better go.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

UploadedFile4UploadedFile4
UploadedFile4

This is a picture that really captures the essence of Iceland


20th May 2012

Awesome! !!
21st May 2012

Heading there May 25th
Wow, looks amazing, I am heading there on May 25th. Many years ago in the 80's I lived there for 2 years while in the Navy but didn't have much time to have fun so am finally returning. Hoping it warms up this week though. Looks cold... brrr.. Maggie from New Orleans
23rd May 2012

I loved Iceland!
It set the bar pretty high for the rest of my trip. In particular I loved the ice climbing, glaciar hiking part of the trip. The blue lagoon was a welcome bit of relaxation after that. Have fun!

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb