More on Iceland


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
September 22nd 2011
Published: October 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wow, I only spent a week in Iceland but it really has been the most special place I've visited on this trip. The landscape is so unique, changing rapidly and ALIVE. After our near-death experience on the hike, things calmed down and Melissa and I had the chance to relax in the Blue Lagoon - an innovative idea to use the warmed water filled with natural silica as outdoor baths (plus they make very nice beauty products). Then we had dinner out where I tried Minke whale - a strangely beef-like meat. The next day, I had the chance to see my first real Minke whale in the bay. It was more whalespotting than watching, but it was a calm, gorgeous day on the boat and the dolphins and Minkes just rolled up and over in the water. Walking through Rejkavik is also such a great way to spend the day - window-shopping and popping into the museums. On my last day, the skies finally cleared and the temperature dropped again. Finally, a good night to see the Northern Lights. I booked the bus, held thumbs and headed into the icy night for a glimpse. Initially, we saw nothing. Then, a grey rainbow revealed itself across the sky. The moon wasn't up yet, and I was mesmerized by this bright arc. Suddenly, it was a vivid moss-green, then it started transforming into diffferent shspes. The arc became swirls, then large drops falling from the sky. As the moon rose, the lights continued their show. Pictures with my little camera can't do it justice. What a magical thing to have seen! I definitely want to go back to Iceland!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb