Icelandic hospitality


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
April 16th 2006
Published: June 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Arrive in Reykjavik in the early morning. It is cold, tempt 32 F degree, occasionally snow shower. I asked myself why I travel from a warm place (70s F at Baltimore to 30s in Iceland). Did not sleep much throughout the flight. Iceland is only 4 hours ahead of NYC Eastern standard time zone. It is quite a long walk from disembarking the aircraft to the customs and to exit to collect the luggages. There are other flights from the US arriving here (from Minneapolis and Boston) arrving at the same time. There are few carousels working nonstop to deliver the luggages to their rightful owners. Make sure to wait at the right carosel assigned for your flight.

Don't know where I can buy the airport-to-city shuttle ticket. The tourist information is not open yet. Locate a self-serve kiosk where you can buy the shuttle ticket. It only accepts credit card payment. I want to use cash. I ask the shuttle driver if I can buy the ticket on board. Of course, you can. Able to speak english here. Haha ! I opt to buy a round-trip airport transfer ticket for 1900 ISK (Icelandic krona) saving 200 krona. Able to locate an ATM machine in the terminal and get some Icelandic currency. Be careful, there are ATM machines where you can get US dollars, Euros, or British pounds.

It is a 40 minutes drive to Reykjavik from the KEF international airport. Arrive at the BIS bus terminal at 717 AM. Most passengers get off here and smaller shuttles will take them to hotels and guesthouses scattered around the city. I am about to get off and the bus driver motions me to stay and He'll take me to the guesthouse (in a big bus). He also asks if I have been before. Never, I said. Then he told me the guesthouse where I am going to stay is quite well located and He points to the directions where I should go to explore and the center city. The driver makes me feel really good about my decision of comming here. Seems he is very proud of Iceland and happy to do what he does. He truly shows an interest in helping and knowing I chose to come here for holidays. Great feeling !

Located the guesthouse a few steps after getting off the shuttle, but the entrance door is closed. Moment later located an intercom where I press a button twice and a voice come in asking me what my room number is. "Sorry, I have just arrive", I told him. Hear a buzz sound, and I push the door. It opens. and I take the elevator to the check-in lobby which is on the third floor. Fill in registration form. Pay. I was told the room will not be ready till 2-3 hours later. I ask if I can use to breakfast room to do some reading (brochures and maps and other booklets I get from the lobby). I was told later I can have coffee if I like. Nice !


Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 30; qc: 128; dbt: 0.1135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb