Keflavik


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
April 20th 2006
Published: April 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm not sure if this counts as a pit stop given I never actually got off the plane. And I know..I know...I'm not racing The Amazing Race so I promise to leave Phil out of future entries. But as we flew in, it felt like I had been here before. Then I realized I was remembering some seasons ago, TAR episode where one of the destinations was Iceland. Living vicariously through the racers has definitely skewed my own reality. Only now I can comment from a window seat view rather than a TV screen many miles away. Instead of pitching a tent in the freezing cold (OR throwing my partner down on an icefield WWF style) I was trapped in an uncomfortably hot plane where a kid vomitted as a result. However Iceland seems just as pretty if not more in its own little way. Must come back one day to taste and smell all of it. Even though local medical crew boarded the plane it seems like no one actually lives here. Which brings me to why I was here. A passenger was experiencing heart discomfort so we deplaned. You can imagine how anxious I was to fly into London nonetheless have a shower, especially given the fact that I had to wait in the airport for 5 hours before leaving Canada. One thing to be thankful for is not having to catch a connecting flight and not being the passenger experiencing heart problems. I'm sure this'll be all worth the journey in the long run and hopefully forgotten soon. For now I just needed to vent and let those who thought they were envious of me know how much travelling can be a pain in the ziggy at times, from the packing attempts to hauling your 30lb backpack for what feels like an eternity.

It's only a five minute walk from Paddington Station!

Maybe if you're training for the Marathon. Nonetheless I'm relieved to have made it. Will be sight seeing over the next few days to hopefully get over this massive jet lag so that I'm in top shape for next week's tour of the UK.

Advertisement



21st April 2006

Way to go!
TRAC!! Great to hear that you are safe and well in London Town. Had any pints yet? Enjoy your first weekend in London. How are your accomodations?
21st April 2006

:)
You can do it Trace! 30 lb backpack? Are you serious?! Wow...what a trooper....keep in mind folks, she's a shortie ( I mean that in a good way)....anyway, I hope you get out of Iceland soon and onto the land whose claim to fame are The Spice Girls! Ha! Have a fun..tell the Queen Mother I said cheerio!

Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb