T minus 17 days


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
June 13th 2008
Published: June 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So...
InterRail pass - check!
Flight reservation to Berlin - check!
A teensy backpack - check!
Money - ch...er...no, no checks for that one.

But, hey, at least I managed to get the Evil Forces of Taxation to agree not to take my entire salary, but rather a small portion of it. Stupid tax people. It doesn't matter that the "overused discount" was so incredibly not my fault, but rather my employers' (since they pay the taxes directly) or that I can honestly not recall having any more money than before or after this supposed "crime". No, what matters is that they get their 140.000 krona, no excuses!
Meanwhile, multi-millionaires go on record as having paid around that much in taxes for a whole year! I'm just asking for a little fucking perspective here!



But these things matter not, they are but as moths trying to block the sun.
I be going to You Rope!

Itinerary has been composed, researched, abandoned, redrafted, reresearced and copied in meticulous handwriting, complete with illustrations. The internet has been scoured, the bookstores looted, the libraries mostly ignored -since I'd end up checking out way too many books and throw my back whilst trying to carry them home- for useful travel info. Mother has been assured of safety, CouchSurfing.com has been rummaged for usable hosts, ankle has been warned to behave. Oh, yeah, did I mention that I sprained my ankle? Hurts like a bitch, so I guess all that mountaineering is out. I guess I'll just have to do the usual backpacker stuff* instead.

In other news, I have no idea why I decided to blog, as I clearly have nothing of value to say. Time for a beer!


*Drink.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb