Keep death off the roads


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » North » Saudarkrokur
July 7th 2022
Published: July 7th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Keep death off the roads


This morning the weather has turned. There is a yellow weather warning on the Icelandic weather website and we’ve also received a message on our tablet from the van rental company warning us to be careful and to always hold the van doors when opening because the wind might rip them off!

This is also the day that I have determined to drive the van…can’t keep putting it off however much Ian assures me he is happy to drive. :-)

We have a mountain of washing so we stick that in the machine and have our breakfast. We see Yasmin who we met a couple of days ago. She is a Belgian lady who is travelling alone in her own camper. She is very interested in bird watching and went to another of the islands yesterday. She also had a very successful trip, seeing many different bird species (they all look the same to us!).

Finally the washing is finished (they only allow one cycle here and it takes 100 minutes - everywhere else has only been 45). So now we can put it in the dryer - another 100 minutes! We leave it going whilst I have my first driving lesson.

Seat and mirrors adjusted, automatic system explained, handbrake off and time to go…the campsite is almost empty now so I practice reversing into a spot first then down the road to an empty car park and I’m ready fir the open road. First a trip down to the harbour and back - max speed limit is 35km in town and then I am let loose on the 70 and 90 stretches as we drive out to the picnic area and back.

Washing dried and we are ready to go. It’s 11am but the terrible weather hasn’t quite reached us yet. We are heading in that direction though! Ian wonders if I’d prefer to let him drive as we are heading back towards the single lane tunnels? No! I’m determined that I can do it…and it’s about time he understands why I’m scared when I think he’s driving too close to the cliff edge!

The first part of our route is the same that we followed a couple of days back so we know there will be a few narrow roads, four tunnels, and quite a few twists and turns. But on the whole it’s a decent tarmac road with just a few gravel bits thrown in. We could have gone the other way round on the main road loop of course…but where’s the fun in that! :-)

I reach the first single lane tunnel. It feels a bit like a ride on the ghost train at the funfair. Impossible to see round the corner though this first bit little bit is narrow dual road and then suddenly we are underground, single lane and I can see the first set of headlights coming towards me. Into the passing bay with another van close behind me. Two cars pass and I’m off again, but oh no, more lights coming. Ian says they are such a distance off that I can make the following bay but I’m not taking any chances. We’ll be here all day mutters Ian. Well it’s not my fault there is so much oncoming traffic today…better Mrs Late than late missis, I say!

OK, I’m getting the hang of it now. This tunnel is 7km long and the passing places are not too far apart so I manage to pass three more before the next stop. Then blissfully clear, I make it to the other end. There’s lay-by so I pull over to let the van behind me pass…only to find there’s a huge line of cars, vans and lorries behind me! There really isn’t much traffic on the roads here so I’ve obviously caused some congestion. Never mind, one tunnel down, only another three to go. :-)

There are two more dual carriageway tunnels - a tad snug but there’s a rumble strip in the middle so you know if you are getting too close to the middle. And I have a living rumble strip sitting beside me in case I get too close to the other side!

Finally another single carriageway tunnel. This is the narrowest of the lot but only 4km long. The walls and ceiling appear to be lined with some kind of thick cloth…hmmm, are we in danger of landslide?

The weather is deteriorating fast…the wind is strengthening and it’s raining hard. Ian wonders again if he should drive? OK, maybe that’s enough for one day. Ian says I’ve done OK - that’s as much praise as I can expect (and probably more). :-)

We are headed for Skagastrond and there are two ways to get there…over the saddle between two mountains or the coastal road. A huge black cloud is dumping over the coast so we choose the former…especially when we see the rough gravel track (which should only be entered with snow chains, but I’m guessing not applicable in July?) that leads to the coast.

We arrive at our destination around 2.30pm. I had wanted to see the Museum of Prophecies, which is advertised as free to see but with tarot, tea leaf or palm readings for a small fee. We arrive at a small tin shack which states that there is a £25 entrance fee for the pair of us with an astronomical additional fee for readings. I predict that we won’t be going in! It’s a shame as I would have paid to go in if it had been less exorbitant.

We examine some rusty witchy art pieces outside and then head to the campsite.

Our camp has a cosy little kitchen made of wood and nicely heated. There’s only one table but it seats six so we share it with a Finnish family who are camping. Poor them…the weather is dreadful! We decamp to the van as others arrive to use the hot plates.

An early night as we are still tired from yesterdays adventure!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.462s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb