If it looks like Salmon, tastes like Salmon and smells like Salmon, it’s trout. NOT!e


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » East
May 30th 2015
Published: May 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post

DSCN1810DSCN1810DSCN1810

shelly climbing the church stairs
Thursday

Today we had only one stop, in Akureyri. Neither Shelly nor I had an excursion. Instead, we walked into town and found a coffee shop with internet and caught up on life. I got 2 more blogs posted. After our computer time, we walked around town some and I actually found a top I bought that wasn’t ridiculously expensive. Everything seems to be very high priced. We saw the local church and Shelly had to do her cardio on the stairs. As we departed, we had lunch and went to the gym. But before that I went up on deck to take a few pictures. One picture I took was off a waterfall into the fjord.

I then headed to the gym and while there, they explained over the intercom about the waterfall. Seems they were trying to build a tunnel to the other side of the mountain and hit both hot and cold water and that is the waterfall so you can see steam. The bike really helps my knee so I’ve gone when I’ve found time. . After the gym, I headed to the lecture on volcanos. I knew most of what they were talking about
DSCN1801DSCN1801DSCN1801

our coffee house
but I didn’t know that much about the Iceland volcanos.

Tonight we had a sit down dinner and finally got to meet our table mates. One couple is from Florida and the other from Los Angeles. I ordered trout. If that was trout – well, it had to be salmon. The wait staff kept saying it was trout but, I sure didn’t taste like it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

DSCN1799DSCN1799
DSCN1799

trolls
DSCF6946DSCF6946
DSCF6946

waterfall caused by the tunnel project
DSCF6943DSCF6943
DSCF6943

view of the area
DSCN1811DSCN1811
DSCN1811

one of the buildings in town


Tot: 0.467s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.139s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb